Ralph Weiden

Ralph Weiden

Ralph Weiden
CapeArt experience

Photos: Karl Rogers

My special thanks go to Ralph Weiden, who organised all the interview dates, accompanied me and made this wonderful insight into the art and design scene possible.

In his function as creative director he travelled to Cape Town for the first time 25 years ago and got to know not only the city and its surrounding, picturesque countryside via various photo productions, but also the contemporary art scene which had just begun to emerge.

Artists like William Kentridge, Marlene Dumas or Jane Alexander, who were able to first bring movement into the post-Apartheid era, awakened his interest as an art collector, so that first contacts were made with the important Goodman and Stevenson Galleries. Thereafter, contemporary South African art became a focus in his own collection. His network, which meanwhile covers also the lifestyle and culinary scenes, keeps extending in many different directions.

From this background, an idea was born:

The idea of CapeArt experience (and so my heading is now revealed). A trip through Cape Town, organised for you by Ralph Weiden. Taylor-made to match your individual interests, he will arrange a programme for you and your group, covering one to four days; he will accompany you on these excursions and will bring you into contact with those people who drive the vigorous development of art in this city.

Would you like to know more? Contact Ralph Weiden directly on: weidenr@aol.com, via his website www.weidenr.com. or instagram.com/caepart_experience

Ralph Weiden und Elke Backes

Ralph Weiden

Ralph Weiden

Ralph Weiden
CapeArt experience

Fotos: Karl Rogers

Mein besonderer Dank gilt Ralph Weiden, der alle Interviewtermine organisiert, mich begleitet und mir diesen wunderbaren Einblick in die Kunst- und Designszene ermöglicht hat.

In seiner Funktion als Creative Direktor reiste er bereits vor 25 Jahren das erste Mal nach Kapstadt und lernte über verschiedenste Fotoproduktionen nicht nur die Stadt und die malerische Landschaft ihrer Umgebung kennen, sondern auch die gerade erblühende zeitgenössische Kunstszene.

Künstler wie William Kentridge, Marlene Dumas oder Jane Alexander, die erste wichtige Impulse in der Zeit der Post-Apartheid setzen konnten, weckten sein Interesse als Kunstsammler, sodass erste Kontakte zu den bedeutenden Galerien Goodman und Stevenson entstanden. Sukzessive entwickelte sich die südafrikanische Gegenwartskunst zu einem Schwerpunkt seiner eigenen Sammlung. Sein Netzwerk, das sich mittlerweile auch auf die Lifestyle- und die kulinarische Szene erstreckt, wird immer noch größer und dichter.

Vor diesem Hintergrund ist eine Idee entstanden.

Die Idee von CapeArt experience (so erschließt sich nun auch meine Überschrift). Ein für Sie von Ralph Weiden organisierter Trip durch Kapstadt. Individuell auf Ihre persönlichen Interessen abgestimmt, stellt er ein ein- bis viertägiges Programm für Ihre Gruppe zusammen, begleitet Sie vor Ort und bringt Sie mit den Menschen zusammen, die diese gewaltige Entwicklung in der Stadt vorantreiben.

Neugierig geworden? Kontaktieren Sie Ralph Weiden direkt unter: weidenr@aol.com, über seine Website www.weidenr.com oder instagram.com/capeart_experience.

Ralph Weiden und Elke Backes