Aurel Dahlgrün

In the depths of photography

Studio photos: Markus Schwer

Düsseldorf. Did I perhaps lose my way and end up in an adjacent print shop? Looking around the huge room filled with professional equipment rather than with art, I discover the large mirrors which I remember as part of the installation Irgendwo im Tiefenrausch in the Museum Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf. I am in the right place then. It is the studio of Aurel Dahlgrün.

Left: View into the studio, right: Installation views Irgendwo im Tiefenrausch (Museum Kunstpalast, Dusseldorf)

I am excited to meet the 2018 Ehrenhof prize winner, whose career has been proceeding at a breath taking pace since his graduation from the Düsseldorf Kunstakademie. His multifaceted work, which spans the media of photography, installation and art books, is already as much in demand by curators as by collectors. The presentation of this third art award was followed by numerous participations in group exhibitions in the Rhineland and in China, and particularly his first institutional solo exhibition linked to the Ehrenhof Prize (see images above).

Installation views of group exhibitions f. l. t. r.: Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch (Sculpture Museum Changchun), Falling – Floating – Sinking (Filmwerkstatt Düsseldorf), Floating Circles (Kunstsammlung NRW)

A central theme can be recognized in all his works: Water. In today’s conversation, he explains this to me and particularly how he makes connections between this topic and the history of photography and its perception, simultaneously examining the effect of the images on the viewer and the exhibition space.

To warm up, we take a short walk around the studio and a first look at the technical equipment. During tea and bullar, baked personally by Aurel (!), I am approaching the complex subject by asking how this (obvious) fascination with water arose in the first place.

Introduction to the technical equipment

Aurel: That’s easy to answer. Although I was born in Berlin, I grew up in Sweden, directly on a lake. Fishing, diving, fish farming and aquaristics formed part of my everyday activities from an early age.

What were the pathways that took you from Sweden to Dusseldorf and the arts?

Aurel: At some stage, we moved back to Germany, where I, however, very quickly felt a longing for distant lands. At sixteen I moved in with a host family in São Paulo. After I matriculated I spent another year in Brazil before I moved to Dusseldorf. My path to art was laid out early. From childhood I spent many nights painting, and it was clear to me that I wanted to study art. However, when I applied to the academy I took my photography portfolio with me. I studied under Christopher Williams, with whom I travelled extensively internationally.

Is the focus there not mainly on theoretical and conceptual questions of photography? Did you not at some stage start to miss painting?

Aurel: I am essentially interested in questioning scientific approaches from the point of view of art. Because of the theoretical discourse in classes, the concept and the context always took centre stage. But because the practical work was also always very important to me, the history of photography enabled me to develop questions that were at the interface of theory and practice. I discovered such an interface in the field of reproduction techniques. Trying to answer the question what influence the printing process and the substrate have on the impact and the aura of the image, I tried out the most varied techniques and materials – at some stage, I even made my own paper. During this process I got the idea to shred my photographs and make new paper from the shreds. At some stage I became aware of two aspects: I had created a cycle, and, at the same time, something very beautiful – for instance, this picture [see picture bottom right].

Top left: Gauze to wipe the colour from the printing plates; bottom left: Example of a printing plate; centre: detail view of the picture composition; right: picture composition from shredded photo etchings of paper made by hand

Indeed. I would never have thought of photography when looking at this work. I remember his final presentation, the installation 19 weeks of water, which consisted only of a shallow basin filled with water, two benches and dehumidifier. Can a connection be seen here too? I pose the question.

Installation views 19 weeks of water (final presentation Kunstakademie Düsseldorf)

Aurel: Yes. Here too, a cycle was visualised, in this case under the aspect of the intake of various states of matter. During a period of 19 weeks, I had collected the moisture in the room and had then filled the basin with the condensed water. I considered this water as something like a photo emulsion. The objective was to create a mirror surface and diverse images, depending on the incidence of light and thus the movement in the room. To me, the mirror surface of the water is the archetypal reflection. The mirror as such significantly influenced the development of photography. The earliest optical instruments projected an image via an inverting mirror. Again, my reference to the history of photography.

Ah! I see. The function of the curved mirrors from the exhibition in the Museum Kunstpalast now also becomes accessible because surreal – distorted – pictures are also created here in the studio. On the table in front of one of the mirrors I discover Aurel’s beautiful artist’s book Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch. There are two of them, each containing eighteen photoengravings, juxtapositions of aquaria motives viewed once from the inside and once from the outside, with changes of perspective from underneath and above the water. The books are printed on high-quality washi and are bound in an unusual way. Symmetrically folded, the pages may only be opened and looked at, if both hands open them at the same time. It is interesting to notice how the viewer hones in on the picture motives because of the unusual way of turning the pages.

Artist’s books Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch

These motives show your passion for diving and aquaristics? How did you get the ideas for these juxtapositions?

Aurel: On the one hand, I have always been interested in the differences in the living environment of fish in their natural habitat and the artificially created one. On the other hand, I always found it interesting to watch people while they are looking at the water and in how many different ways the water changes our perception, depending on the circumstances of light and perspective. For instance, a diver will primarily perceive the vast depths, while a ship’s passenger will perceive the surface and thus the vastness of the water. I found this contrast between the surface and depth effect, but also of immediate presence and distance, very exciting. While I pursued this topic further, the idea grew in my mind to show the various patterns of perception on the basis of the juxtaposition, arranged in pairs, of motives connected to each other through change of perspective. It was interesting to find that during the work process, the similarities with the fundamental elements of photography increasingly revealed themselves: Focal length, incidence of light or the reversal of positive and negative. This became so intense that, when I dived, I had the feeling that I physically immersed myself in a negative [he laughs].

Examples of juxtapositions in the artist’s book Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch

Talking about the body. When diving into the depth of water one is exposed to massive pressure fluctuations. Compressed air cylinders as well as the propulsion through pressure build-up often form part of your installations. Your photo engravings are also created via gravure print. Cycles and the water are visualised in your works in the most diverse forms. All in all, very metaphorical. Can one therefore perhaps speak of a symbolic projection of your own physical experiences and experiments around the topic of photography?

left: Installation view Airdrop (Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf)

Aurel: Yes, indeed one can. I am mainly interested in the relationship between the body and the pictures. But in that process, I’m just acting as the medium. At the core is always the attempt to pursue questions which visualise the influence of pictures on our life and how they change the perception of our surroundings.

In conclusion, I ask myself whether Aurel Dahlgrün’s photography is, in fact, a means to an end. Within his artistic processes he disassembles it, decodes each of its parameters, literally immerses himself in it ……. And I become aware that it is not photography as such, which is the focus, but rather the experiments in connection with the extensive subject of the questions of image theory.

His work is even more exciting because the artistic results of his series of experiments are convincing not only from a content but also from an aesthetics point of view. It is perfectly obvious: Stay tuned!

More information on the artist
My purchase recommendation

One breath of air (study for a circle), 2019

Photogravur auf Büttenpapier

Exemplar 4/5

Maße: 80 x 60 cm

Courtesy: The Artist

Price: 2200€ (zzgl. Versand)

if you are interested please send an Email with the Artist’s name and artwork. Contact me

Aurel Dahlgrün

In den Tiefen der Fotografie

Atelierfotos: Markus Schwer

Düsseldorf. Habe ich mich vielleicht in eine benachbarte Druckwerkstatt verirrt? Ich sehe mich um und entdecke in der mehr mit professionellem Gerät als mit Kunst bestückten Halle die großflächigen Spiegel, die mir als Teil der Installation Irgendwo im Tiefenrausch im Düsseldorfer Museum Kunstpalast in Erinnerung sind. Ich bin also doch richtig. Es ist das Atelier von Aurel Dahlgrün.

Links: Einblick in das Atelier, rechts: Installationsansichten Irgendwo im Tiefenrausch (Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf)

Ich bin gespannt, den Ehrenhof-Preisträger 2018 kennenzulernen, dessen Karriere seit seinem Abschluss an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie rasant voranschreitet. Sein vielfältiges Werk, das sich innerhalb der Medien von Fotografie, Installation und Kunstbuch bewegt, ist schon jetzt bei Kuratoren ebenso begehrt wie bei Sammlern. Der Verleihung seines bereits dritten Kunstpreises folgten zahlreiche Teilnahmen an Gruppenausstellungen im Rheinland und in China, und vor allem seine erste mit dem Ehrenhof-Preis verbundene institutionelle Einzelausstellung (s. Abbildungen oben).

Installationsansichten von Gruppenausstellungen v.l.n.r.: Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch (Sculpture Museum Changchun), Falling – Floating – Sinking (Filmwerkstatt Düsseldorf), Floating Circles (Kunstsammlung NRW)

Ein zentrales Thema verbindet erkennbar alle seine Arbeiten: das Wasser. Das und vor allem wie er dieses Thema in den Bezug zur Geschichte der Fotografie und ihrer Wahrnehmung stellt, und dabei parallel die Wirkung von Bildern auf Raum und Betrachter untersucht, erklärt er mir im heutigen Gespräch …

Zum Warming-up gibt es zunächst einmal einen kleinen Rundgang durchs Atelier und einen ersten Einblick in das technische Equipment. Bei Tee und Bullar, einem köstlichen, von Aurel selbst gebackenen(!) Hefegebäck, nähere ich mich der komplexen Thematik mit der Frage, wie es überhaupt zur (offensichtlichen) Faszination für das Wasser kam.

Einführung in das technische Equipment

Aurel: Das lässt sich leicht beantworten. Ich wurde zwar in Berlin geboren, bin aber in Schweden, direkt an einem See, aufgewachsen. Angeln, Tauchen, Fischzucht und Aquaristik gehörten für mich deshalb schon früh zur Alltagsbeschäftigung.

Über welche Wege bist du dann von Schweden nach Düsseldorf und zur Kunst gekommen?

Aurel: Wir sind irgendwann wieder zurück nach Deutschland gezogen, wo mich aber sehr schnell eine Sehnsucht nach Ferne gepackt hat. Mit sechzehn bin ich nach São Paulo zu einer Gastfamilie gezogen. Nach dem Abitur verbrachte ich ein weiteres Jahr in Brasilien, bevor ich nach Düsseldorf kam. Mein Weg zur Kunst war frühzeitig angelegt. Von Kindheit an habe ich viele Nächte mit Malen verbracht und es war für mich klar, dass ich Kunst studieren wollte. An der Akademie beworben habe ich mich aber später mit einer Fotografie-Mappe. Das Studium verbrachte ich dann in der Klasse von Christopher Williams, mit der ich viel international gereist bin.

Sind es nicht überwiegend theoretische und konzeptionelle Fragen der Fotografie, die dort im Fokus stehen, hat dir die Malerei nicht irgendwann gefehlt?

Aurel: Grundsätzlich reizt es mich, wissenschaftliche Ansätze künstlerisch zu hinterfragen. Durch den theoretischen Diskurs in der Klasse standen immer Konzept und Kontext im Vordergrund. Weil mir aber auch stets die praktische Arbeit sehr wichtig war, habe ich über die Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte der Fotografie Fragestellungen entwickelt, die sich an der Schnittstelle von Theorie und Praxis bewegen. Eine solche Schnittstelle fand ich im Bereich der Reproduktionstechniken. Mit der Frage, welchen Einfluss das Druckverfahren und Trägermaterial auf die Wirkung und Aura des Bildes haben, habe ich mich an den verschiedensten Techniken und Materialien ausprobiert – irgendwann sogar das Papier selbst geschöpft. Hierbei entwickelte sich dann die Idee, meine Fotografien zu schreddern und aus dem geschredderten Papier wieder neues Papier zu schöpfen. Der Aspekt, einen Kreislauf abgebildet zu haben, wurde mir irgendwann ebenso bewusst wie der Aspekt, dass sich in den Arbeiten etwas sehr Malerisches zeigte – wie beispielsweise in diesem Bild [s. Abbildung unten rechts].

Oben links: Gase zum Abwischen der Farbe von Druckplatten, unten links: Beispiel einer Druckplatte, Mitte: Detailansicht der Bildkomposition, rechts: Bildkomposition aus geschredderten Fotoradierungen selbstgeschöpfter Papiere

In der Tat. Eine Verbindung zur Fotografie hätte ich bei dieser Arbeit niemals hergestellt. Ich denke an seine Abschlusspräsentation, die Installation 19 weeks of water, die lediglich aus einem flachen, mit Wasser gefüllten Becken, zwei Bänken und einem Luftentfeuchter bestand. Lässt sich hier auch eine Verbindung herleiten? Ich frage nach.

Installationsansichten 19 weeks of water (Abschlusspräsentation Kunstakademie Düsseldorf)

Aurel: Ja. Gleichzeitig wurde auch wieder ein Kreislauf visualisiert, hier unter dem Aspekt des Zulaufs verschiedener Aggregatzustände. Ich hatte über neunzehn Wochen die Luftfeuchtigkeit im Raum gesammelt und das kondensierte Wasser dann in das Becken gefüllt. Dieses Wasser habe ich in gewisser Weise als Fotoemulsion betrachtet. Ziel war es, über den Einfall des Lichts eine Spiegelfläche und damit je nach Bewegung im Raum unterschiedlichste Abbilder zu schaffen. Die Spiegelfläche des Wassers ist für mich die Urform des Abbildes. Der Spiegel selbst hat wesentlich die Entwicklung der Fotografie beeinflusst. Schon die ersten optischen Geräte projizierten ein Bild über einen Umkehrspiegel. So also wieder mein Bezug zur Geschichte der Fotografie.

Ah! Verstanden. Jetzt erschließt sich mir auch die Funktion der gewellten Spiegel aus der Ausstellung im Museum Kunstpalast, die hier im Atelier ebenfalls surreale (Zerr-)Bilder entstehen lassen. Auf dem Tisch vor einem der Spiegel entdecke ich Aurels wunderschöne Künstlerbücher Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch. Es sind zwei mit jeweils achtzehn Fotogravuren, Gegenüberstellungen von Aquarien-Motiven in der Innen- und Außenansicht mit ozeanischen Motiven im Perspektivwechsel unter und über Wasser. Die Bücher sind hochwertig auf Japanpapier gedruckt und außergewöhnlich gebunden. Symmetrisch eingefaltet lassen sich die Seiten nur in einer beidhändigen, synchronen Bewegung aufklappen und durchblättern. Interessant zu spüren, wie sich über die ungewohnte Art des Blätterns die Konzentration auf die Bildmotive schärft.

Künstlerbücher Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch

In den Motiven zeigt sich deine Leidenschaft für das Tauchen und die Aquaristik. Welche Gedanken haben dich auf die Idee zu diesen Gegenüberstellungen geführt?

Aurel: Zum einen haben mich immer schon die Unterschiede in den Lebensräumen von Fischen in ihrer natürlichen und künstlich geschaffenen Umgebung interessiert. Zum anderen fand ich es immer schon spannend, Menschen dabei zu beobachten, wie sie aufs Wasser schauen und wie unterschiedlich das Wasser je nach Lichtsituation und Perspektive unsere Wahrnehmung verändert. Ein Taucher nimmt beispielsweise in erster Linie den Tiefenraum, ein Schiffspassagier hingegen die Oberfläche und damit die Weite des Wassers wahr. Diesen Kontrast von Oberfläche und Tiefenwirkung, aber auch von unmittelbarer Anwesenheit und Entfernung, fand ich sehr spannend. In der weiteren Auseinandersetzung mit dieser Thematik reifte in mir die Idee, über die paarweise Gegenüberstellung von miteinander durch Perspektivwechsel verknüpften Motiven die verschiedenen Wahrnehmungsmuster darzustellen. Interessanterweise offenbarten sich während des Arbeitsprozesses immer stärker die Parallelen zu den zentralen Elementen der Fotografie: Brennweite, Lichteinfall oder die Umkehrung von Positiv und Negativ. Das ging so weit, dass ich beim Tauchen irgendwann das Gefühl hatte, körperlich in ein Negativ einzutauchen [lacht].

Beispiele von Gegenüberstellungen in den Künstlerbüchern Hinein – Hinaus – Hindurch

Apropos Körper. Beim Abtauchen in die Tiefe des Wassers ist man massiven Druckschwankungen ausgesetzt. Druckluftflaschen und auch der Antrieb durch Druckaufbau sind häufig Teil deiner Installationen. Deine Fotogravuren entstehen ebenfalls im ‚Tiefdruckverfahren‘. Kreislauf und Wasser finden sich in unterschiedlichster Form in deiner Arbeit visualisiert. Alles in allem sehr metaphorisch. Kann man deshalb vielleicht von einer bildhaften Übertragung deiner eigenen körperlichen Erfahrungen und Experimente mit und im Themenbereich der Fotografie sprechen?

links: Installationsansicht Airdrop (Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf)

Aurel: Ja genau, das kann man. Mich interessiert im Grunde, wie sich Körper und Bilder zueinander verhalten. Aber ich fungiere hierbei eigentlich nur als Medium. Im Kern geht es mir immer um den Versuch, Fragestellungen nachzugehen, die den Einfluss von Bildern auf unser Leben und ihre Veränderung auf die Wahrnehmung unseres Umfeldes vergegenwärtigen.

Dient die Fotografie Aurel Dahlgrün dann in erster Linie als Mittel zum Zweck, frage ich mich abschließend. Innerhalb seiner künstlerischen Prozesse zerlegt er sie in ihre Bestandteile, entschlüsselt jeden ihrer Parameter, taucht buchstäblich in sie ein … Doch ist es nicht die Fotografie als solche, die hierbei im Fokus steht, wird mir nun bewusst. Vielmehr sind es Experimente rund um das große Thema bildtheoretischer Fragestellungen …

Dass die künstlerischen Ergebnisse seiner Versuchsreihen nicht nur inhaltlich, sondern auch ästhetisch überzeugen, macht sein Werk umso spannender. Hier heißt es definitiv: Dranbleiben!

Weitere Informationen zum Künstler
Meine Ankaufsempfehlung

Mask (2020)

Photogravur auf Büttenpapier inkl. Stahlrahmen

Unikat

Maße: 23 x 18 cm

Courtesy: The Artist

Preis: 1200€ (zzgl. Versand)

Floating Body (2020)

Photogravur auf Büttenpapier inkl. Stahlrahmen

Nr. 3/5

Maße: 30,3 x 23 cm

Courtesy: The Artist

Preis: 1500€ (zzgl. Versand)

Bei Interesse meldet euch bitte per Email mit Angabe des Künstlernames und des Kunstwerks. Zur Kontaktseite