Sophia Süßmilch

Pure Artist Talk

Studio photos: Natascha Romboy

It only needs a fraction of a second and I’m captivated. What a weird photo! The adjoining, relevant, short and snappy profile in the June edition of art Magazin under the promising headline “Die Superheldin”1 clinched it for me. Sophia Süßmilch fascinates me immediately. The same day I write her a mail and enquire about a visit to her studio. She promptly replies.

It was to become a special encounter …

(1 Larissa Kikol, art Magazin, Ausgabe 06/2020, S. 100.)

Transformer (French girl), 2019

Munich. I am quite excited when I press the bell. What will she be like? Her humorous and playful photographs, performances and paintings also convey something aggressive and provocative. How much of her personality do they reflect? While still mulling over these thoughts, her warm-hearted welcome shows a side that I did not expect from the artist personality of Sophia Süßmilch.

We enter the studio she shares with two other artists. The spacious, cosy room with a view into nature conveys a comfortable working environment. An eye catcher is the installation on the wall of sculptured sagging breasts(!) of varying sizes, which communicate something surreal yet also belligerent – nipples sticking out like thorns, which, in contrast to the pink of the breast shapes, are painted bright red.

Views of the studio

The display, which appears to be in-your-face, is surrounded by delicate paintings, which initially appear to be illustrations of children’s books. Mind you, only at first glance … At a closer look, the constructions clearly show forms of private parts, repeatedly dominated by the exaggeration of the stretched out, pendulous breasts.

f.l.t.r.: The last supper (Jesus steps out of the farewell cake), 2020; Genesis (Maria Magdalene, that old cunt, creates patriarchy), 2020; Tree of knowledge, 2020

The play with the naked body is undeniably one of her most favoured fields of experimentation. I start the conversation by asking why.

Sophia: It simply makes sense to me to be naked in my works. The unadorned, naked body is universal. It is something everybody has in the whole world. As soon as one gets dressed, there is a reference to a cultural environment. From the start, I used nakedness in by photography because it makes it easier to cause emotions. If you use a prop, it sticks out first.

l.: Teddy’s girl, 2019; r.: Waldmöbel, 2020  [Forest furniture]

l.: I want you, r.: Stillleben mit Wassermelone und Sexualität [Still life with water melon and sexuality]

Indeed. The props are very particular in your works. For you, is this mainly about sexuality? Do you want to provoke?

Sophia: No. My works are by no means intended to be provocative. Neither are they primarily about sexuality. For instance, if I pose in I want you with my legs wide open and a giant snail as a pretended vaginal secretion, it is more about me making fun of women not being perceived as sexually aggressive. Essentially, I keep wondering why people are perturbed by the naked body. In my opinion, the reason is that the female body is made a subject of discussion and extremely over-sexualised everywhere. Politically, for instance, in discussions about wearing a burka or the right to abortion, socially, on ideals of beauty which – particularly via the media – are given to us as a standard. It is absurd, but it is not something one can successfully fight.

In your photos and performances, are you intentionally intervening against ideals of beauty?

Sophia: Within my art photography, I look at the body more as something incredibly funny, with which I can do silly things. As a kind of playful toy. It is a wonderful instrument and gives me many more options if it is not perfect. I can do much more with a pot belly or drooping breasts than with a body which is defined by beauty standards.

l.:Self-portrait as globules’, 2020; r.: One meter fitty (socially distanced portrait with mother), 2020

Did you need to force yourself? Is there something like shame?

Sophia: Never where my photos are concerned. More so when I perform, which I started very early. The worst I could then imagine was to be standing naked in front of three hundred people. I therefore had to do it. I think that much of me happens on the level of depth psychology. When I carry out such projects I become invulnerable. Like: You’ve seen it all …

It is important to say that you also act mercilessly when dressed, as you did, for instance, in your performance of Schnitzel Atmen [Breathing a chop]; which I watched on Instagram as a live video. I haven’t laughed that much in a long time. What is important in your performances?

Sophia: I like silly stuff and therefore love Slapstick. My main idea is that of entertainment. Improvisation is much more important to me than perfection. Perfection bores me. The content of the performance evolves spontaneously, often also from something that happens or depending on the surroundings.

Schnitzel Atmen, Performance 2020

The impulse for the idea of Schnitzel atmen is immediately obvious. Was there also a reason which lead you to the Denkmal der Beleidigungen? [Monument of insults]

Sophia: Oh yes! The idea relates to an event that happened on New Year’s Eve last year. A former fellow student, while completely drunk, thought that he needed to tell me off for being such a lousy artist. I was completely stunned and not able to react at that moment. The next morning, while still being furious I asked or rather ordered him to come and see me at home and demanded an explanation for his spewed-out opinion. The conversation, which regrettably took place only several months later, once again showed me the subjectiveness in art appreciation. I was wondering how cool it would be to be able to separate the personal insult experienced by the artist from the criticism and simply listen to it objectively. So, the idea evolved for the Denkmal der Beleidigungen. Fourteen authors and journalists were invited to write damning reviews about me, which I then read out loud at an event on the monument created by me. The interesting understanding in connection with this work was that since then I am two hundred percent committed. It was a hugely positive process that liberated me from my endless self-doubts.

Denkmal der Beleidigungen, Performance 2020

All your works, independent of the genre, contain aspects of improvisation. Is there also an artistic intent behind all this?

Sophia: Less an intent than the fact that I have too much energy bubbling inside me to stick to one thing for too long. There is a force inside me that wants to move on quickly. Because one genre alone would bore me terribly, I enjoy working in so many different areas. I do art to sort out my world and find inner peace. Even if, again, it is only short-lived … [laughs].

Then follows the second part of my visit. During the enquiry stage Sophia had expressed her wish to stage a double portrait with me. Now we want to implement the idea and become part of her new artwork, Lady in red. A red overall is waiting for me. She prepared herself with a red curly wig and a bucket of red paint. It is logical and predictable … She, of course, stages herself in the nude. During the making of all this, I may paint her. After conquering my short hesitation, I raise the brush and am immediately transported back to forgotten Kindergarten excesses. Her free spirit is plainly infectious, her humour unbeatable.

Making-of: Lady in Red

Result:Lady in Red

For our cover photo, it suddenly simply “makes sense” to me to be naked. Everything else would be artificial and false. Also, thinking about the meeting, it seems to make no sense at all to try and force the art of Sophia Süßmilch into a category or interpret it. Her humorous and self-deprecating way of staging questions of feminism, gender, history and criticism of art or current events is a reflection of herself in the world she lives in.

It is simply she, who opens up new conceptual spaces through the direct and merciless confrontation with this world view which allows the individual to reflect. Simple, pure, grandiose!

 

The visit of her performance regarding the opening of her solo show in Galerie Martinez in Cologne at the DC open (4 September 2020, 19h00) is highly recommended!!!!

Further Information
My purchase recommendation

Selbstportrait als 70er Jahre Feministin

C-Print
60 x 40 cm

Number 3/5 + 3 AP

Courtesy: Gallery Petra Martinetz, Cologne

Prize: 1500€ (additional VAT and shipping costs)

if you are interested please send an Email with the Artist’s name and artwork. Contact me

Sophia Süßmilch

Pure Artist Talk

Atelierfotos: Natascha Romboy

Es bedarf nur einen Bruchteil von Sekunden, um mich zu fesseln. Was für ein schräges Foto! Das dazugehörige, knackig formulierte Kurzportrait in der Juni Ausgabe des art Magazins unter der vielversprechenden Headline „Die Superheldin“1 trägt sein Übriges dazu bei. Sophia Süßmilch erwischt mich unmittelbar. Noch am selben Tag schreibe ich ihr eine Mail und frage an für einen Atelierbesuch. Die Antwort folgt prompt.

Es sollte eine besondere Begegnung werden …

(1 Larissa Kikol, art Magazin, Ausgabe 06/2020, S. 100.)

Transformer (French girl), 2019

München. Sehr gespannt drücke ich den Klingelknopf. Wie wird sie sein? Ihre Fotografien, Performances und Malereien umwehen bei allem Humor und aller Verspieltheit auch etwas aggressiv Provokantes. Wie viel ihrer Persönlichkeit wird wohl darin gespiegelt? Innerlich noch in diesem Gedankenspiel verankert, zeigt sich mir bereits in der sehr warmherzigen Begrüßung eine Seite, die ich in der Kunstfigur Sophia Süßmilch nicht erwartet hätte.

Wir betreten das Atelier, das sie sich mit zwei weiteren Künstlern teilt. Der großzügige, gemütliche Raum mit Ausblick ins Grüne verbreitet eine wohlige Arbeitsatmosphäre. Eyecatcher ist die an einer Wand installierte Ansammlung bildhauerisch ausgearbeiteter Hängebrüste(!) unterschiedlichster Größe, die mit ihren geradezu dornenhaft hervorstehenden Brustwarzen – noch dazu knallrot im Kontrast zum Rosa der Brustformen – etwas Surreales und gleichzeitig Angriffslustiges ausstrahlen.

Atelieransichten

Umrahmt wird das brachial anmutende Ensemble von filigranen Malereien, die im ersten Augenblick an Kinderbuchillustrationen erinnern. Wohlgemerkt, nur im ersten Augenblick … Bei näherer Betrachtung lassen sich in den Bildaufbauten deutlich die Formen von Geschlechtsteilen, allen voran immer wieder die der übertrieben langgestreckten Hängebrust erkennen.

v.l.n.r.: Das letzte Abendmahl (Jesus steigt aus der Abschiedstorte), 2020; Genesis (Maria Magdalene, that old cunt, creates patriarchy), 2020, Baum der Erkenntnis, 2020

Das Spiel mit dem nackten Körper ist unverkennbar eines ihrer liebsten Experimentierfelder. Mit der Frage nach dem Warum steige ich in unser Gespräch ein.

Sophia: Ich finde es einfach plausibel in meinen Arbeiten nackt zu sein. Der pure, nackte Körper ist universell. Den haben alle Menschen auf der ganzen Welt. Sobald man etwas anzieht, verweist das schon auf einen Kulturkreis. Ich habe innerhalb meiner Fotografie von Beginn an mit Nacktheit gearbeitet, weil ich hiermit viel einfacher Emotionen hervorrufen kann. Jedes verwendete Requisit wird sehr viel stärker wahrgenommen.

l.: Teddy’s girl, 2019; r.: Waldmöbel, 2020

l.: I want you, r.: Stillleben mit Wassermelone und Sexualität

In der Tat. Die Requisiten sind sehr speziell in deinen Arbeiten. Geht es dir um Sexualität? Möchtest du provozieren?

Sophia: Nein. Meine Arbeiten sind in keinster Weise provokant gemeint. Auch geht es mir nicht vorrangig um Sexualität. Wenn ich beispielsweise wie bei I want you breitbeinig mit Riesenschnecken als vorgeblichem Vaginalsekret posiere, mache ich mich eher darüber lustig, dass Frauen nicht als sexuell aggressiv wahrgenommen werden. Grundsätzlich wundert es mich immer wieder, woran man sich an nackten Körpern überhaupt stört. Viele assoziieren Nacktheit sofort mit Sexualität. Der Grund ist meiner Meinung nach darin zu finden, dass der weibliche Körper überall extrem übersexualisiert und thematisiert wird. Auf unterschiedlichsten Ebenen findet hierbei eine Kontrolle über den weiblichen Körper statt. Auf politischer Ebene beispielsweise in Diskussionen über das Tragen einer Burka oder über das Recht auf Abtreibungen, auf gesellschaftlicher Ebene über Schönheitsideale, die uns – insbesondere über die Medien – als Maßstab vorgegeben werden. Es ist absurd, aber man schafft es nicht, sich dagegen zu wehren.

Geht es in deinen Fotos und Performances darum, diese Schönheitsstandards bewusst zu intervenieren?

Sophia: Innerhalb meiner Kunstfotografie sehe in den Körper eher als etwas wahnsinnig Lustiges, mit dem man doofe Sachen machen kann. Als eine Art playful toy. Er ist ein wunderbares Instrument und gibt mir viel mehr Möglichkeiten, wenn er nicht perfekt ist. Mit Kugelbauch oder Hängebrüsten lässt sich deutlich mehr anstellen, als mit einem Körper, der nach Schönheitsstandards definiert ist.

l.: Selbstportrait als Globuli, 2020; r.: Ein Meter Fünfzig (sozial distanziertes Portrait mit Mutter), 2020

Gehört Überwindung dazu? Gibt es so etwas wie Scham?

Sophia: Bei meinen Fotos nie. Eher bei meinen Performances, mit denen ich auch schon sehr früh begonnen habe. Das Schlimmste, was ich mir damals vorstellen konnte, war es, nackt vor dreihundert Leuten zu stehen. Also musste ich es machen. Ich glaube, dass sich vieles bei mir auf einer nahezu tiefenpsychologischen Ebene bewegt. Wenn ich solcherart Aktionen durchziehe, macht es mich unverletzlich. Nach dem Motto: Ihr habt alles gesehen …

Wichtig zu sagen, dass du auch angezogen gnadenlos hemmungslos agierst, wie beispielsweise in deiner kürzlich inszenierten Performance Schnitzel Atmen. Ich habe das Live-Video auf Instagram gesehen und wirklich lange nicht mehr so gelacht. Was ist dir in deinen Performances wichtig?

Sophia: Ich mag alberne Sachen und liebe deshalb Slapstick. Bei mir steht der Entertainmentgedanke im Vordergrund. Improvisation ist mir viel wichtiger als Perfektion. Die langweilt mich. Der Inhalt der Performances entwickelt sich spontan, oft auch aus Anlässen oder der Umgebung heraus.

Schnitzel Atmen, Performance 2020

Bei Schnitzel atmen ist der Impuls zur Idee jedem sofort klar. Gab es auch einen Anlass, der dich zum Denkmal der Beleidigungen geführt hat?

Sophia: Oh ja! Die Idee steht im Zusammenhang mit einem Ereignis in der vergangenen Silvesternacht. Ein ehemaliger Studienkollege meinte mir im volltrunkenen Zustand an den Kopf werfen zu müssen, was für eine schlechte Künstlerin ich sei. Ich war völlig perplex und in diesem Augenblick nicht fähig zu reagieren. Innerlich noch total geladen bestellte – man könnte schon fast sagen – zitierte ich ihn am nächsten Morgen zu mir nach Hause und forderte eine Erklärung für seine hingerotzte Wertung. Das leider erst einige Monate später stattfindende Gespräch offenbarte mir dann wieder einmal die Subjektivität in der Kunstbetrachtung. Ich überlegte, wie cool es doch wäre die persönliche Kränkung, die man als Künstler hierbei erfährt, von der Kritik abkoppeln und sich diese stattdessen einfach nur neutral anhören zu können. So entwickelte sich schließlich die Idee zum Denkmal der Beleidigungen. Vierzehn Schriftsteller und Journalisten waren eingeladen, Verrisse über mich zu schreiben, die ich dann im Rahmen eines Events auf dem von mir gestalteten Denkmal vorgelesen habe. Eine interessante Erkenntnis im Zusammenhang dieser Arbeit ist, dass ich seitdem mit zweihundert Prozent bei der Sache bin. Der gesamte Prozess war ein regelrechter Befreiungsschlag von meinen ewigen Selbstzweifeln.

Denkmal der Beleidigungen, Performance 2020

In allen deinen Arbeiten, unabhängig vom Genre, findet sich das von dir bevorzugt Improvisatorische. Steckt auch eine künstlerische Absicht dahinter?

Sophia: Weniger eine Absicht als die Tatsache, dass in mir zu viel Energie brodelt, um mich zu lange mit einer Sache befassen zu können. Es ist eine Kraft in mir, die immer sehr schnell weiter will. Ich arbeite auch deshalb so gern in so vielen verschiedenen Arbeitsfeldern, weil mich ein Genre allein schrecklich langweilen würde. Ich mache Kunst, um für mich die Welt zu sortieren und eine innere Ruhe zu finden. Auch wenn diese dann wieder nur von kurzer Dauer ist [lacht] …

Es folgt der zweite Teil meines Besuches. Bereits im Vorfeld hatte Sophia ihren Wunsch geäußert, mit mir ein Doppelportrait inszenieren zu wollen. Jetzt heißt es die Idee umzusetzen und Teil ihres neuen Kunstwerks Lady in red zu werden. Ein roter Overall liegt für mich bereit. Für sich selbst hat sie eine rote Lockenperücke und einen Eimer mit roter Farbe bereitgestellt. Logisch und vorhersehbar … Sie selbst inszeniert sich natürlich nackt. Das Making-of gestaltet sich derart, dass ich sie anmalen darf. Nach kurzer Überwindung schwinge ich den Pinsel und fühle mich spontan an vergessene Kindergarten-Exzesse erinnert. Ihr freier Geist ist spürbar ansteckend. Ihr Humor ist unschlagbar.

Making-of: Lady in Red

Ergebnis: Lady in Red

Für unser Cover-Foto erscheint es mir plötzlich völlig „plausibel“ nackt sein zu müssen. Alles andere hätte etwas aufgesetzt Falsches. Auch erscheint es mir im Rückblick völlig unsinnig, die Kunst von Sophia Süßmilch zwanghaft einordnen oder interpretieren zu müssen. Ihre humorvolle und selbstironische Art Fragen von Feminismus, Gender, Kunstgeschichte, Kunstkritik oder Zeitgeschehen in Szene zu setzen, ist ein Spiegel ihrer selbst in der sie umgebenden Welt.

Es ist einfach sie, die uns über die unmittelbare und schonungslose Konfrontation mit diesem Weltbild neue Denkräume öffnet, die das Eigene reflektieren lassen. Einfach, pur, großartig!

 

Dringend empfohlen ist der Besuch ihrer Performance anlässlich der Eröffnung ihrer Soloshow in der Galerie Martinetz in Köln im Rahmen der DC open (4. September, 2020, 19 Uhr)!!!!

Weitere Informationen
Meine Ankaufsempfehlung

Selbstportrait als 70er Jahre Feministin

C-Print
60 x 40 cm

Nummer 3/5 + 3 AP

Courtesy: Galerie Petra Martinetz, Köln

Preis: 1500€ (zzgl. MWST+ Versand)

Bei Interesse meldet euch bitte per Email mit Angabe des Künstlernames und des Kunstwerks. Zur Kontaktseite

Ich bin ein Textblock. Klicken Sie auf den Bearbeiten Button um diesen Text zu ändern. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.