Pierre Lombart

Pierre Lombart and the SAFFCA Foundation – Cultural exchange through artists exchange

St. Émilion, Johannesburg. What usually comes to mind when thinking of African art? Carved masks, paintings in intense colours or simply something exotic? For a start, the typical African art and craft markets or stands at the side of the road met my expectations influenced by my European background.

But what a surprise I got when I visited a gallery of contemporary art. I was embarrassed to immediately discover that I had followed a clichéd path. “African art”? Far from it! Here, the field of contemporary art showed completely new impulses. All in all, works that got under the skin and showed references that have since held my fascination.

Pierre Lombart felt exactly the same when – for professional reasons – he turned his back on his home country Belgium and moved to Johannesburg in 1984 – ten years before the historically so significant change of government. As a foreigner in a country, where he could not speak the language, he became aware, more than ever before, of the power of art because it functions on an emotional basis and does not necessarily need words.

It was very fortunate that Rodney Grosskopff, the head of GLH Architects, a company in which Pierre Lombart was to advance as a successful architect and partner, was also a sculptor and painter. The chemistry between the two of them was just right. So, Rodney undertook to promote and introduce Pierre in South Africa. During regular Sunday dinners he was always placed next to one of Rodney’s sculptures with which he developed a special bond. A cast of this sculpture today holds a place of honour at Pierre’s second residence in St. Émilion.

Sculpture Risen by Rodney Grosskopff

In 2004, a serious stroke had caused the “workaholic with an unhealthy lifestyle” [own quote Pierre Lombart] to re-arrange his life. From then on, art took the centre of his engagement. In 2014 he founded SAFFCA (Southern African Foundation For Contemporary Art) – a foundation that aims to promote talented artists and eases access to the local and European art market. Barbara Schroeder and Chris Soal, two artists who were already introduced in this blog, are also in this group.

We meet at St. Émilion, the European Artist-Residency (a venue for artists on an exchange program) of SAFFCA. The building comprises an exhibition venue, studios and artists accommodation.

After a short introduction to the works exhibited here, Pierre Lombart tells me of the difficult beginnings of contemporary art in South Africa.

Examples from the SAFFCA Collection f.l.t.r.: Gerhard Marx Horizontal Figure 2014, Kendell Geers Self-portrait (original destroyed on Flight TW800) 1995, Robin Rhode Classic Bike 1998

Lombart: The Apartheid system suppressed the natural development of the arts. The freedom necessary for it only came once the system ended. So, it was all the more impressive to watch the emergence of a generation of artists who developed new forms of artistic expression with an incredible creativity. However, the big problem was that this young generation for a long period lacked all infrastructure that could have assisted with its education and support. A real change only came about in 2014. Initiators like Jochen Zeitz1 or Wendy Fisher2 must be mentioned here as important role players who addressed the problem. The aim was and continues to be the support of talented artists in their own country and to be able to also present their works locally. In a word: to give a space to contemporary art.

1 see Zeitz MOCAA. The Light House Project: https://www.atelierbesuche.com/zeitz-mocaa/?lang=en see Article A4 Foundation. An innovative art lab: https://www.atelierbesuche.com/a-4-foundation/?lang=en

 

Giving art a space also includes, in the literal sense, making studios available. Could therefore the Johannesburg-based organisations Bag Factory, established in 1991 with sixteen studious or August House, established in 2006 with forty studios be showcased as pioneers of this idea?

Studio visits at August House, Bag Factory and Victoria Yards, f.l.t.r. top row: Chrisèl Attewell, Lazyhound Coka, Themba Khumalo; bottom row: Teresa Kutalo Firmino, Bev Butkow, Yolanda Mazwana

Lombart: Absolutely. I have known both organisations and their initiators since the beginnings. The central idea to use artist residencies to create a place for artists – irrespective of colour, age and social status – ultimately inspired me to found SAFFCA. Such a venue would give them the opportunity to jointly develop new ideas and participate in the most diverse support projects, as, for instance, residency programmes. Both these organisations are among our partners.

Residency on the Entabeni Farm in Knysna, South Africa, in partnership with Axon Investments

How does SAFFCA differ from the other foundations?

Lombart: It was important to me to also establish a spatial link with Europe. That is the reason this venue, which is made possible through the partnership with AFSACSA3, is in France.

Artists like Kendell Geers, whose career, incidentally, also got off the ground in the Bag Factory, have been grappling on an artistic level with the connections of both continents for years. Many people forget that art and culture were an essential component of the colonial system. Anybody who was born in the former colonies had connections to Europe. And this had a decisive influence on the development of the African culture. The forced adaptation demanded to give up the own traditions and to adapt to the system. As a consequence, paintings, objects and ideologies of the European continent were re-contextualised and taken over in the African culture. Africa became something between what it once was in the past and Europe. This, too, obviously had a major influence on the production of art.

AFSACSA (Association Française de Soutien à l’Art Contemporain du Sud de l’Afrique)

 

Are you saying that the development of art was more influenced by the European history of art and the expectations of tourism than by its own traditions?

Lombart: Yes, exactly. And this has only been changing slowly since the end of Apartheid. Yet, this connection is present because of history and the subject of the search of identity continues to be an important part of the socio-political and artistic involvement. To support this involvement, we use SAFFCA to facilitate the exchange of the artists – as a form of physical cultural exchange, so to speak. At the moment it exists exclusively between France and South Africa. However, we are planning further cooperation with more partners in European countries.

Which role does the art market play in the context of the SAFFCA support projects? Looking at the exhibitions, one can see an increasing acceptance of contemporary African art.

Lombart: For a start it is important to us that our artists can show their works at attractive venues. That is the reason we are working together with partners like the Institut Français or Maxwell Baynes in cooperation with Christies Real Estates or organise charity auctions with the renowned auction house Strauss. During events in this context, the artists then also meet gallery owners and collectors, of course, which is aimed at facilitating and supporting the entry into the art market.

Examples from the charity auction Seed (2019), f.l.t.r. top row: Chrisèl Attewell, Learning to dance (2019), Mohau Modisakeng Zion12 (2018), Athi-Patra Ruga, The Whole world loves her (2019), Bottom row: Banele Khoza Kgabo (2019), Chris Soal, All we have and have forgotten to hold (2019), Gerhard Marx, Cave (2010), William Kentdridge, Your turn is not next (2019)

Regarding the acceptance of art at fairs, I consider the fact that the relevant galleries are increasingly showcasing themselves internationally as extremely positive. It was however somewhere sad that the Art from the continent needed its specialised fairs like AKAA in Paris or I:54 in London or New-York, to appear with dignity in the worlds art hubs. I guess it was the entrance price to pay. As you can imagine, this kind of segregation is something that rings truly sad historic bells for most South-Africans.

Many of the artists in your own collection have meanwhile become internationally successful so that the value has gone up. Next to Kendell Geers mentioned before we need to particularly mention William Kentridge. What is your personal motive for buying art?

Lombart: I don’t really like the term collection. I purchase art to support the artists, to give them some kind of economic small support that helps them to carry on; I pay them true respect and admiration before praising their talent to my friends. If an artwork later starts to show a positive trend in the art market, I guess it is a welcome side effect [he smiles].

Benon Lutaaya’s career developed rapidly, but, regrettably, came to a tragic end. He died last year at the age of only 34 of cancer. What was extraordinary about his art?

Lombart: Benon was not only an outstanding artist but a very special person. He came from Uganda, where he grew up with his Gogo ( grand_Mother ) and developed his network with the street kids. A grant by the Bag Factory enabled him to come to Johannesburg. In this environment, the necessary materials like brushes, paint and canvasses were made available to him. But because he painted like a person possessed, he quickly ran out of material. He was too proud to ask for more. So, what did he do? Taking a look at the floor of his studio gave him the ground-breaking idea. To protect the floor from splashed paint, the whole area was covered in newspaper and magazine pages. Why not use this paper to create collages? And so, ultimately from the waste of his own artistic creations, those incredibly intense portraits were created, which were to conquer the art market with lightning speed. But that was not all…. he invested his capital not for his own purposes, but to establish the The Project Space institution for the promotion of women in the area of the Victoria Yard creative centre. He felt compelled to pass on his own, personal experience.

Collages by Benon Lutaaya

A thought that continuously drives you too, looking at the development of SAFFCA. What are your next plans?

Lombart: In order to reach a larger public, the relocation from St. Émilion to Brussels is planned for this year. In addition to the already mentioned search for additional partners in European countries we are also currently planning a Tour d’Europe with a Benon Lutaaya retroperspective. Exhibition venues in Paris and Brussels have already been found. On our wish list is also Berlin …

 

The conversation took place in November last year. In February this year we met again in Johannesburg over dinner at his home. I remember a wonderful evening for which I am very grateful.

f.l.t.r.: Robin Attewell, Chrisél Attewell, Lynn Lombart, Els van Mourik, Candice Berman, Jan Schnocks, Elke Backes, Chris Soal

Further information about SAFFCA

Pierre Lombart

Pierre Lombart und die SAFFCA Foundation – Kulturaustausch durch Künstleraustausch

St. Émilion, Johannesburg. Was stellt man sich üblicherweise unter Afrikanischer Kunst vor? Geschnitzte Masken, Gemälde in gewaltiger Farbpracht oder schlicht und einfach Exotisches? Die typischen afrikanischen Kunsthandwerksmärkte oder Verkaufsstände am Straßenrand erfüllten zunächst einmal meine europäisch geprägten Erwartungen.

Doch präsentierte sich mir beim ersten Besuch einer Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst ein völlig anderes Bild. Unmittelbar wurde mir bewusst, dass ich einer klischeehaften Vorstellung gefolgt war. „Afrikanische Kunst?“ Fehlanzeige! Hier zeigten sich vielmehr völlig neue Impulse im Bereich zeitgenössischer Kunst. Alles in allem Werke, die unter die Haut gingen und eine Verbindung erspüren ließen, die mich seither nicht mehr loslässt.

Ebenso erging es Pierre Lombart, als er aus beruflichen Gründen seinem Heimatland Belgien den Rücken kehrte und 1984 – zehn Jahre vor dem historisch so bedeutenden Regierungswechsel – nach Johannesburg zog. Als Fremder in einem Land, dessen Sprache er nicht sprechen konnte, wurde er sich der Kraft der Kunst stärker als je zuvor bewusst, weil diese emotional funktionierte und nicht zwingend einer Sprache bedurfte.

Es war sein großes Glück, dass der Chef des Architekturbüros GLH Architects, in dem er zum erfolgreichen Architekten und Partner aufsteigen sollte, auch Bildhauer und Maler war. Die Chemie zwischen den beiden stimmte. So machte es sich Rodney Grosskopff zur Aufgabe, Pierre Lombart zu fördern und in Südafrika einzuführen. Bei regelmäßigen sonntäglichen Dinnern wurde er immer neben eine seiner Skulpturen platziert, zu der er eine besondere Beziehung aufbaute. Ein Guss dieser Skulptur hat heute einen Ehrenplatz in seinem Zweitwohnsitz St. Émilion.

Skulptur Risen von Rodney Grosskopff

2004 hatte ein schwerer Schlaganfall dafür gesorgt, dass der „Workaholic mit ungesundem Lebenswandel“ [eigenes Zitat von Pierre Lombart] sein Leben neu sortierte. Die Kunst wurde seitdem zu seinem Mittelpunkt. 2014 gründete er SAFFCA (Southern African Foundation For Contemporary Art). Eine Stiftung, die das Ziel verfolgt, talentierte Künstler zu fördern und ihnen den Einstieg in den heimischen und europäischen Kunstmarkt zu ebnen. Barbara Schroeder und Chris Soal, zwei Künstler, die in diesem Blog bereits vorgestellt wurden, gehören beispielsweise dazu.

Wir treffen uns in St. Émilion, der europäischen Artist-Residency (Künstleraufenthaltsort im Rahmen von Austauschprogrammen) von SAFFCA. Das Gebäude beinhaltet einen Ausstellungsraum sowie Ateliers und Künstlerwohnungen.

Nach einer kleinen Einführung in die hier ausgestellten Werke erzählt Pierre Lombart zunächst einmal über die schwierigen Anfänge der Gegenwartskunst in Südafrika.

Beispiele aus der SAFFCA Collection v.l.n.r.: Gerhard Marx Horizontal Figure 2014, Kendell Geers Self portrait (original destroyed on Flight TW800) 1995, Robin Rhode Classic Bike 1998

Lombart: Das System der Apartheid hatte eine natürliche Entwicklung der Kunst unterdrückt. Erst nach ihrem Ende war die erforderliche Freiheit gegeben. Umso beeindruckender war es dann eine Generation von Künstlern heranwachsen zu sehen, die mit einer unglaublichen Kreativität neue Formen künstlerischen Ausdrucks entwickelte. Das große Problem war allerdings, dass es dieser jungen Generation lange Zeit an jeglicher Infrastruktur fehlte, die sich ihrer Ausbildung und Förderung hätte annehmen können. Erst seit 2014 vollzieht sich ein erkennbarer Wandel. Initiatoren wie beispielsweise Jochen Zeitz1 oder Wendy Fisher2 sind hier als wichtige Protagonisten zu nennen, die sich des Problems annahmen. Ziel war und ist es, talentierte Künstler im eigenen Land zu fördern und deren Werke auch dort präsentieren zu können. Kurzum: Zeitgenössischer Kunst einen Raum zu geben.

1 vgl. Zeitz MOCAA. Das Leuchtturmprojekt: https://www.atelierbesuche.com/zeitz-mocaa/, 2 vgl. Artikel A4 Foundation. Ein innovatives Kunstlabor: https://www.atelierbesuche.com/a-4-foundation/

 

Der Kunst Raum zu geben beinhaltet auch im wörtlichen Sinne Atelierräume zur Verfügung zu stellen. Könnte man die in Johannesburg beheimateten Organisationen Bag Factory, gegründet 1991 mit sechzehn oder das August House, gegründet 2006 mit vierzig Ateliers demnach nicht als Vorreiter dieser Idee herausstellen?

Atelierbesuche im Augusthouse, Bag Factory und Victoria Yards, v.l.n.r. Reihe oben: Chrisél Attewell, Lazyhound Coka, Themba Khumalo; Reihe unten: Teresa Kutalo Firmino, Bev Butkow, Yolanda Mazwana

Lombart: Absolut. Ich kenne beide Organisationen und ihre Initiatoren seit den Anfängen. Die zentrale Idee, Künstlern – unabhängig von Hautfarbe, Alter und sozialem Stand – über Ateliergemeinschaften einen Ort zu geben, an dem sie gemeinsam neue Ideen entwickeln und an verschiedensten Förderprogrammen, wie beispielsweise auch Residency Programmen teilnehmen zu können, hat mich letztlich auch zur Gründung von SAFFCA inspiriert. Beide Organisationen gehören zu unseren Partnern.

Residency in der Entabeni Farm in Knysna, Südafrika in Partnerschaft mit Axon Investments

Was unterscheidet SAFFCA von anderen Foundations?

Lombart: Mir war es wichtig, auch einen räumlichen Link nach Europa herzustellen. Deshalb gibt es diesen Standort in Frankreich, der über die Partnerschaft mit AFSACSA3 ermöglicht wird.

Künstler wie Kendell Geers, dessen Karriere übrigens ebenfalls in der Bag Factory ihren Anfang genommen hat, setzen sich seit Jahren mit der Verbindung beider Kontinente auseinander. Viele vergessen, dass Kunst und Kultur wesentliche Komponenten des kolonialistischen Systems waren. Jeder, der in einer der früheren Kolonien geboren worden war, hatte eine Verbindung zu Europa. Und das beeinflusste entscheidend die Entwicklung der afrikanischen Kultur. Die erzwungene Anpassung hatte es verlangt, eigene Traditionen aufzugeben und sich dem System anzupassen. In der Konsequenz waren Bilder, Objekte und Ideologien des Europäischen Kontinents rekontextualisiert und in die Afrikanische Kultur aufgenommen worden. Afrika wurde irgendetwas zwischen dem, was es einmal war und Europa. Das hat natürlich auch die Kunstproduktion maßgeblich beeinflusst.

AFSACSA (Association Française de Soutien à l’Art Contemporain du Sud de l’Afrique)

 

Soll heißen, dass die Entwicklung der Kunst stärker durch die europäische Kunstgeschichte und die Erwartungen des Tourismus beeinflusst war als durch die eigene Tradition?

Lombart: Ganz genau. Und das ändert sich erst langsam seit dem Ende der Apartheid. Dennoch ist diese Verbindung aufgrund der Historie gegeben und das Thema Identitätsfindung nach wie vor ein wichtiger Teil der gesellschaftspolitischen und somit auch künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung. Zur Förderung dieser Auseinandersetzung ermöglichen wir mit SAFFCA den Austausch der Künstler – sozusagen als physischen Kulturaustausch. Derzeit noch ausschließlich mit Frankreich und Südafrika. Geplant ist aber eine Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren Partnern in europäischen Ländern.

Welche Rolle spielt der Kunstmarkt im Zusammenhang der Förderprogramme von SAFFCA? Ein Blick auf die Messen lässt eine zunehmende Akzeptanz zeitgenössischer afrikanischer Kunst erkennen.

Lombart: Uns ist es zunächst einmal wichtig, dass unsere Künstler ihre Werke an attraktiven Orten präsentieren können. Deshalb arbeiten wir mit Partnern wie dem Institut Français oder Maxwell Baynes in Kooperation mit Christies Real Estates zusammen oder organisieren Benefizauktionen mit dem renommierten Auktionshaus Strauss. Bei Veranstaltungen in diesem Rahmen treffen die Künstler dann auch auf Galeristen und Sammler, was einen Einstieg in den Kunstmarkt ermöglichen und auch unterstützen soll.

Beispiele der Benefizauktion Seed (2019), v.l.n.r. Reihe oben: Chrisél Attewell, Learning to dance (2019), Mohau Modisakeng Zion12 (2018), Athi-Patra Ruga, The Whole world loves her (2019), Reihe unten: Banele Khoza Kgabo (2019), Chris Soal, All we have and have forgotten to hold (2019), Gerhard Marx, Cave (2010), William Kentdridge, Your turn is not next (2019)

Was die Akzeptanz der Kunst auf Messen angeht, bewerte ich es als äußerst positiv, dass entsprechende Galerien sich immer stärker international präsentieren. Irgendwie traurig ist es allerdings, dass es für ihre Wahrnehmung in den Kunstmetropolen der Welt eigene Messen wie die AKAA in Paris oder die 1:54 in London und New-York brauchte. Doch ich denke, dies war der Preis war, der zu zahlen war. Wie du dir vorstellen kannst, ruft diese Art der Segregation bei Südafrikanern traurige Erinnerungen hervor.

Viele der Künstler deiner eigenen Sammlung sind mittlerweile international erfolgreich, so dass sich eine erhebliche Wertsteigerung entwickelt hat. Ebenso wie der bereits erwähnte Kendell Geers ist da vor allem William Kentridge zu nennen. Mit welcher Intention kaufst du persönlich Kunst?

Lombart: Das Wort Sammlung mag ich nicht gern. Ich kaufe Kunst, um Künstler zu unterstützen. Ich gebe ihnen hiermit ein kleines bisschen wirtschaftliche Sicherheit, um weiterzumachen, zeige ihnen aber vor allem, dass da jemand ist, der an sie glaubt und mache auch meine Freunde auf diese Talente aufmerksam. Wenn sich diese Kunst dann am Kunstmarkt positiv entwickelt, ist das ein schöner Nebeneffekt [schmunzelt].

Eine rasante Entwicklung, leider mit tragischem Ende nahm Benon Lutaaya. Aufgrund einer Krebserkrankung verstarb er im letzten Jahr im Alter von nur 34 Jahren. Was war das Besondere an seiner Kunst?

Lombart: Benon war nicht nur ein herausragender Künstler sondern auch ein ganz besonderer Mensch. Er kam aus Uganda, wo er bei seiner Gogo [Großmutter] zwischen Straßenkindern aufgewachsen war. Dank eines Stipendiums der Bag Factory war es ihm ermöglicht worden nach Johannesburg zu kommen. Das erforderliche Material, also Pinsel, Farbe und Leinwände waren ihm in diesem Rahmen zur Verfügung gestellt worden. Weil er aber wie ein Besessener gemalt hatte, waren ihm in kürzester Zeit die Materialien ausgegangen. Sein Stolz hätte es niemals zugelassen um Nachschub zu bitten. Also was machte er? Ein Blick auf den Boden seines Studios brachte ihn auf die entscheidende Idee. Über die gesamte Fläche waren dort, zum Schutz des Bodens vor Farbspritzern, Zeitungs- und Magazinseiten ausgelegt. Warum nicht dieses Papier nutzen, um daraus Collagen zu kreieren? Und so entstanden letztlich aus dem Abfall seines eigenen Kunstschaffens jene von einer unglaublichen Intensität geprägten Portraits, die in rasanter Geschwindigkeit den Kunstmarkt erobern sollten. Doch damit nicht genug … Er investierte sein Kapital nicht für eigene Zwecke, sondern gründete zur Förderung von Frauen die Institution The Project Space im Areal des Kreativzentrums Victoria Yards. Es war ihm ein zwingendes Bedürfnis etwas von dem weiterzugeben, was er selbst erfahren durfte.

Collagen von Benon Lutaaya

Ein Gedanke, der auch dich stetig antreibt, wenn man die Entwicklung von SAFFCA betrachtet. Was ist als nächstes geplant?

Lombart: Um eine größere Öffentlichkeit erreichen zu können, ist im nächsten Jahr [2020] der Umzug von St. Émilion nach Brüssel geplant. Neben der bereits erwähnten Suche nach weiteren Partnern in europäischen Ländern planen wir darüber hinaus gerade eine Tour d’Europe mit einer Retrospektive von Benon Lutaya. Ausstellungsorte in Paris und Brüssel sind bereits gefunden. Ein weiterer Wunschort wäre Berlin …

 

Das Gespräch fand im November letzten Jahres statt. Im Februar dieses Jahres trafen wir uns in Johannesburg bei einem Dinner in seinem Zuhause wieder. Es war ein wunderbarer Abend, an den ich sehr dankbar zurückdenke.

v.l.n.r.: Robin Attewell, Chrisél Attewell, Lynn Lombart, Els van Mourik, Candice Berman, Jan Schnocks, Elke Backes, Chris Soal

Weitere Informationen über SAFFCA