Philipp Humm

With Philipp Humm in the cinema hall with Angel on Cross, oil painting, in the background

Faust as Gesamtkunstwerk of the 21st century?

Photos: Daniele Mah

London, film premiere of The Last Faust. Both the trailer and even just a brief look at Philipp Humm’s Gesamtkunstwerk*, his total work of art (graphics, photography, oil painting and sculpture) which now comprises one hundred and fifty works, astonished me beyond belief. Yet what I see today in the cinema hall and will see in his studio tomorrow is absolutely beyond my expectations. A fascinating mix of surreal, bizarre, comical yet also oppressively visionary images draws me directly into a cinematic future of the world. A world, where artificial intelligence has taken control over planet Earth …

*Description according to the press release

Filmtrailer

Philipp Humm’s interpretation of Goethe’s Faust I and II gives me the shivers. Even those who have not read the epic usually know about the essential core of the epic, have heard of Dr Faust, who, driven by greed and ambition, sells his soul to the devil Mephisto and, as expected, ends tragically.

But how did Humm succeed in producing a classic work of literature from the late 18th and early 19th century in such a way that the rather more heavy fare is visually perceived as a piece of popular culture and its content in its timelessness.

To answer this question, I visit Philipp Humm in his studio situated in his home, a beautifully modified, typical London townhouse.

On entering the living area, I am immediately wide awake, despite the early hour (8 a.m. after the launch party). Or should I rather call it a show room? Here, a staggering selection of the various Faust works is curated to perfection. There is a lot I recognise from the film.

Top left to bottom right: View of the living area, photograph: Lamia dance, Film set and oil painting from Cyberwar

The questions bubbling up spontaneously are quickly thwarted. “In order to understand the whole in its logic, we should perhaps rather start in my studio upstairs”, Philipp Humm suggests. No sooner said than done. We go upstairs.

This room, too, is perfect. Everything in its place. It is so tidy that I ask him whether any work was still done here. “Yes,” Humm replies, smiling. “I also keep the room so clean because we have a vacuum-cleaner dog which laps up everything. And that includes oil paints!”

That makes sense. The terms logic and order lead me to questions about the very special vita of the artist. Until 2015, Humm was a successful manger, working as a CEO for large technology corporations like Vodafone, T-Mobile and Amazon.

What gave him the idea so terminate such a career and switch to becoming an artist?

Humm: The idea had been lying dormant in me for a long time. From early childhood my two talents showed. One was mathematics, the other art. After the matriculation I made the decision to become an artist. Unfortunately I did not have the application periods of the Kunsthochschule Berlin on my radar so that I had to compile a portfolio, consisting of work examples from all sorts of different media. This, as expected, went wrong. I did not want to waste any time and therefore devoted myself to photography, which took me into advertising, then studied marketing and quickly made a career in business administration. At the same time I became a father to three children, leaving no time for anything artistic. After my children had grown up and I had moved to London for professional reasons, I quickly noticed how strongly the second soul dwelled in me. I started to paint again – thirty to forty hours a week – in addition to my work. I quickly became aware that I had to make a decision in order to pursue the matter seriously. I thought of my father, who is now ninety, and followed his example. ‘There is still enough time’, I thought. So I ultimately decided in favour of art and studied Painting and Sculpting from Life at the London Fine Arts Studios and the Florence Academy of Art.

Left: Interview in the studio, right: Blindness, oil painting

A big step! And how did you ultimately get the idea of Faust?

Humm: Essentially, I want to tell a story with my art. That is why my paintings and sculptures were always figurative, often also characterised by symbolism. There were two sources, which ultimately were the decicivse factors that inspired me to reinterpret a classical work. On the one hand there were the paintings of Paula Rego, who frequently starts her paintings by creating a Mise en Scène, thus creating her own reference before she starts painting. On the other hand, there was an exhibition of Dalíi, in which his interpretation of Dante’s Divine Comedy was presented. I thought that was pure genius. Being German, I wanted to work on a German subject. I immediately thought of Faust although I have to confess that I only knew Faust I. I therefore then read Faust I and II and suddenly felt the works had been written for the 21st century and Goethe’s topic had been waiting for me.

Without wanting to go into too much detail now, I have a question to the background. Goethe lived in the Age of Enlightenment and the Industrial Revolution. We live in the age of the digital revolution. Both in the original works and your interpretation of the influence of the progress of technology on the human thinking and acting plays the crucial role. Professionally, you were right in the centre of high-end technology. Was one of the reasons for giving up your job the fact that you questioned your thinking and acting within this system?

Humm: Well, the answer may be found at the latest in the scene, where Faust holds the likeness of my head in his hands …. [smiles knowingly].

Film still: Zealous und Genius: „Two souls live in me, alas, Irreconcilable with one another“ Faust

Right, it’s self-explanatory. To get back to the work: In what sequence was the whole created?

Humm: Having studied the original, I transported the scenes most important to me into a new narrative. I then drew a storyboard for the respective thirty seven scenes, which I first used as a template for my illustrative pencil drawings, before I proceeded with the photographic production.

[The kernel of the brute …] Sketch, pencil drawing and photograph of Apparition: “So it’s you who was the poodle!“ “And what’s your name?” Faust

“Where did these references come from? Did you use a digital template?”

Humm: No, by hand. Fortunately, I can think very visually. I used the actors, whom I connected with their respective parts, as models only for the faces. As, for instance, Anna Nicole Smith for the angel or Christoph Waltz for Faust.

I alternatively look at the drawings and the photographs. Hard to imagine that the details of the drawings were often implemented one to one. “And from the start, the film was conceived as the grand finale of the entire work”, I now ask.

Pencil drawing and photographic implementation of Faust’s resurrection

Humm: No. It was not planned at all. I had only planned to create a staging with the actors which I intended to use as a reference for my oil paintings and water colours. However, during that time the idea emerged to film a ‘Making-of’ as a documentary. In order to animate the finished stills, we asked the actors to speak a sentence from Faust and quickly realised how suited to film this material was. So the idea took its course.

I summarise up to here: Sketch book, graphic drawings, photography, film. We now go to look at the water colours and oil paintings. Amongst them, there are known sequences of sets from Faust, but overall in a freer interpretation. The colours are expressive, the motifs appear as a mix of surrealism and Pop-Art, the outlines are drawn so accurately that, again, I suspect a digital template or stencil. Of course, I am wrong again. This, too, was all drawn by hand. Unbelievable.

Works from top left to bottom right: Water colour of Apparition, Water colour of Abuse, Lamia, oil painting

I nearly forgot the bronzes, which are also characterised by an interesting mix. The characteristics of form and the figures of the classical period are also clearly visible, which, in combination with the figures from Faust, found their new interpretation.

Apparition, Bronze sculpture, visible in the background on the left, and as a full view on the right

The diversity and perfection of the various artistic positions, their imagery content and ultimately the term Gesamtkunstwerk lead me to pose the final question:

In your press release, the term Gesamtkunstwerk is used, which is considered as being essentially German. It is not possible to translate it into another language. Some of the sound track of The Last Faust is by Wagner. Your Übermensch Humunculus is a black man with blond hair and blue contact lenses. A German literary classic served as a reference to create your Gesamtkunstwerk. All in all, there are stereotypes or terms that have been assigned varying meanings during the course of history. And your narrative ends with the extinction of mankind which mankind, in is greed for infinite knowledge and infinite power created for itself in Silicon Valley. More irony and allusion to yourself is hardly possible…

Humm: [laughs] Correct. That was the intention. Using the concept of time travel through art history in contemporary aesthetics I was able to express how different symbols and also the concept of the Gesamtkunstwerk could be interpreted and defined. I used irony as a stylistic means to stimulate a critical examination when dealing with contemporary history and ultimately with onself….

Would you like to see The Last Faust? Stream video on demand on Amazon, iTunes, Sky Stores, Google, Microsoft, Wuaki or Vubiquity.

It’s worth it!

Further Information

… about the artist:

https://philipphumm.art/

Philipp Humm

Mit Philipp Humm im Kinosaal (im Hintergrund: Ölgemälde Angel on Cross)

Faust als Gesamtkunstwerk des 21. Jahrhunderts?

Fotos: Daniele Mah

London, Filmpremiere von The Last Faust. Schon der Trailer und ein kleiner Einblick in das mittlerweile einhundertfünfzig Werke umfassende Gesamtkunstwerk* (Grafik, Aquarell, Fotografie, Ölgemälde und Skulptur) von Philipp Humm hatten mich in ungläubiges Staunen versetzt. Doch was ich heute im Kinosaal und morgen in seinem Atelier zu sehen bekommen werde, bewegt sich absolut jenseits meiner Erwartungen. Ein faszinierender Mix aus surrealen, schrägen, komischen, gleichzeitig aber auch beklemmend visionären Bildern zieht mich unmittelbar hinein in eine cineastische Zukunft der Welt. Eine Welt, in der die künstliche Intelligenz die Macht über den Planeten Erde übernommen hat …

*Bezeichnung laut Presseerklärung

Filmtrailer

Philipp Humms Interpretation von Goethes Faust I und II ruft Gänsehaut hervor. Auch wer das Epos nicht gelesen hat, weiß meist um den wesentlichen Kern des Inhalts, hat schon einmal von Dr. Faust gehört, der beherrscht von Gier und Ehrgeiz seine Seele an den Teufel Mephisto verkauft und erwartungsgemäß tragisch endet.

Wie aber ist es Humm gelungen, einen Literaturklassiker aus dem späten 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhundert derart zu inszenieren, dass die eher schwere Kost visuell als ein Stück Popkultur und inhaltlich in ihrer Zeitlosigkeit wahrgenommen wird?

Zur Beantwortung dieser Frage besuche ich Philipp Humm in seinem Atelier, das sich in seinem Zuhause, einem wunderschön umgebauten, typischen Londoner Townhouse befindet.

Trotz der frühen Stunde (8 Uhr morgens nach der Premierenfeier) bin ich sofort hellwach, als ich den Wohnraum betrete. Oder sollte ich besser sagen Showroom? Eine gigantische Auswahl der verschiedenen Faust-Werke ist hier in Perfektion kuratiert. Vieles erkenne ich aus dem Film wieder.

Von links oben nach rechts unten: Einblick in den Wohnbereich, Fotografie (Foto: Daniele Mah): Lamia dance, Filmszene und Ölgemälde Cyberwar

Meine spontan aus mir heraussprudelnden Fragen werden schnell ausgebremst. „Um das Ganze in seiner Logik zu verstehen, sollten wir vielleicht besser oben im Atelier starten“, schlägt Philipp Humm vor. Gesagt, getan. Wir gehen hoch.

Auch dieser Raum ist perfekt. Alles ist an seinem Platz. Es ist so ordentlich, dass ich ihn frage, ob hier in der letzten Zeit noch gearbeitet worden ist. „Ja“, antwortet Humm lachend. „Ich halte den Raum auch deshalb so clean, weil wir einen Staubsauger-Hund haben, der alles aufschleckt. Also auch Ölfarbe …“

Das leuchtet ein. Mit den Begriffen Logik und Ordnung lässt es sich auch gleich zur sehr besonderen Vita des Künstlers überleiten. Bis 2015 war Humm ein erfolgreicher Manager und als CEO für große Technologieunternehmen wie Vodafone, T-Mobile und Amazon tätig.

Wie kommt man auf die Idee eine solche Laufbahn zu beenden und zum Künstler umzusatteln?

Humm: Die Idee schlummerte schon sehr lange in mir. Als Kind zeigten sich bereits meine zwei Begabungen. Die eine war Mathe, die andere Kunst. Nach dem Abitur stand meine Entscheidung fest, Künstler werden zu wollen. Leider hatte ich die Bewerbungszeiten an der Kunsthochschule Berlin nicht auf dem Schirm, sodass ich innerhalb von zwei Wochen ein Portfolio, bestehend aus Arbeitsbeispielen in verschiedensten Medien zusammenstellen musste. Das ging erwartungsgemäß schief. Ich wollte keine Zeit verlieren und habe mich deshalb mit Fotografie beschäftigt, bin hierüber in der Werbung gelandet, habe schließlich Marketing studiert und eine schnelle Karriere innerhalb der Betriebswirtschaft gemacht. Parallel wurde ich dreifacher Familienvater, sodass für Künstlerisches keine Zeit mehr blieb. Als meine Kinder dann erwachsen waren und es mich beruflich nach London verschlagen hatte, merkte ich schnell, wie stark die zweite Seele in mir schlug. Ich begann wieder zu malen – dreißig bis vierzig Stunden in der Woche –, neben meinem Job. Recht schnell wurde mir klar, dass ich eine Entscheidung treffen musste, um der Sache ernsthaft nachgehen zu können. Ich dachte an meinen Vater, der mittlerweile neunzig Jahre alt ist und nahm ihn mir zum Vorbild. ‚Ist noch genug Zeit‘, dachte ich mir. So habe ich mich schließlich für die Kunst entschieden und an den London Fine Arts Studios und der Florenz Academy of Art Painting and Sculpting from Life studiert.

Links: Gespräch im Atelier, rechts: Ölgemälde Blindness

Ein großer Schritt! Und was hat dich schließlich auf die Idee von Faust gebracht?

Humm: Grundsätzlich möchte ich mit meiner Kunst etwas erzählen. Deshalb waren meine Bilder und Skulpturen immer figurativ, oft auch von Symbolik geprägt. Zwei Quellen haben mich letztlich entscheidend dazu inspiriert, einen Klassiker neu zu interpretieren. Zum einen waren das die Gemälde von Paula Rego, die für ihre Bilder oft zunächst eine Mise en Scène und damit ihre eigene Referenz kreiert, bevor sie diese dann malt. Zum anderen war es eine Ausstellung von Dalí, in der seine Interpretation von Dantes Göttlicher Komödie präsentiert wurde. Das fand ich genial. Als Deutscher wollte ich ein deutsches Thema bearbeiten. Ich dachte unmittelbar an Faust, wenn ich auch gestehen muss, dass ich nur den Faust I kannte. Ich las also Faust I und II und hatte plötzlich das Gefühl, die Werke seien für das 21. Jahrhundert geschrieben worden und Goethes Stoff habe auf mich gewartet.

Ohne jetzt inhaltlich zu sehr ins Detail gehen zu wollen, in diesem Zusammenhang eine Frage zum Hintergrund. Goethe lebte im Zeitalter der Aufklärung und Industriellen Revolution. Wir leben im Zeitalter der Digitalen Revolution. In den Ursprungswerken wie auch in deiner Interpretation spielen der Einfluss des technologischen Fortschritts auf das menschliche Denken und Handeln eine entscheidende Rolle. Du warst beruflich mittendrin im High-End der Technologie. Hast du deinen Beruf auch deshalb aufgegeben, weil du dein Denken und Handeln innerhalb dieses Systems in Frage gestellt hast?

Humm: Nun ja, spätestens in der Szene, in der Faust das Konterfei meines Kopfes in der Hand hält, findet sich die Antwort … [schmunzelt vielsagend].

Filmstill: Zealous und Genius: „Two souls live in me, alas, Irreconcilable with one another“ Faust

Stimmt, ist selbsterklärend. Zurück zum Werk: In welcher Reihenfolge ist das Gesamte entstanden?

Humm: Nach dem Studium des Originals habe ich die für mich wichtigsten Szenen in eine neue Erzählung transportiert. Für die jeweiligen siebenunddreißig Szenen habe ich dann ein Storyboard gezeichnet, das ich zunächst als Vorlage für meine illustrativen Bleistiftzeichnungen genutzt habe, bevor anschließend die fotografische Inszenierung erfolgt ist.

[Des Pudels Kern …] Skizze, Bleistiftzeichnung und Fotografie (Foto: Daniele Mah) von Apparition: „So it’s you who was the poodle!“ „And what’s your name?“ Faust

Woher kamen die Referenzen? Hast du nach digitaler Vorlage gezeichnet?

Humm: Nein. Aus der Hand. Glücklicherweise bin ich ein sehr visuell denkender Mensch. Lediglich die Gesichter habe ich nach dem Vorbild von Schauspielern gezeichnet, die ich mit der jeweiligen Rolle in Verbindung gebracht habe. Wie beispielsweise für den Engel Anna Nicole Smith oder für Faust Christoph Waltz.

Im Wechsel schaue ich mir die Zeichnungen und Fotografien an. Kaum vorstellbar, dass die Details der Zeichnungen oftmals eins zu eins ihre Umsetzung finden konnten. „Und der Film war von Beginn an als Finale des Ganzen gedacht“, frage ich nun.

Bleistiftzeichnung und fotografische Umsetzung von Faust’s resurection (Foto: Daniele Mah)

Humm: Nein. Der war überhaupt nicht geplant. Geplant war lediglich, mit Schauspielern ein Staging zu kreieren, das ich dann als Referenz für meine Ölbilder und Aquarelle nutzen wollte. Währenddessen kam aber die Idee auf, ein Making-of als Dokumentation zu drehen. Um die fertigen Stills zu beleben, ließen wir die Schauspieler einen Satz aus Faust sprechen und merkten hierbei sehr schnell, wie sich das Material für einen Film eignete. So nahm die Idee ihren Lauf.

Ich fasse bis hierhin zusammen: Skizzenbuch, Grafikzeichnung, Fotografie, Film. Es fehlen noch die Aquarelle und Ölgemälde, die wir uns nun anschauen. Hierbei finden sich wieder bekannte Sequenzen der Faust’schen Szenen, jedoch insgesamt freiere Interpretation. Die Farben sind expressiv, die Motive erscheinen wie ein Mix aus Surrealismus und Pop-Art, die Konturlinien sind derart akkurat gezogen, dass ich erneut digitale Vorlagen oder Schablonen vermute. Natürlich liege ich auch hier falsch. Wieder ist alles aus der Hand gezeichnet. Unglaublich!

Werke von links oben nach rechts unten: Aquarell von Apparition, Aquarell von Abuse, Ölgemälde Lamia

Die Bronzen hätte ich fast vergessen, die ebenfalls von einem interessanten Mix geprägt sind. Deutlich zeigen sich Formmerkmale und auch Figuren der Klassik, die in der Kombination mit Figuren aus dem Faust zu neuen Interpretationen gefunden haben.

Im Bild links im Hintergrund und im Bild rechts als Ansicht: Bronzeskulptur von Apparition

Die Vielfalt und Perfektion der verschiedenen künstlerischen Positionen, ihr Bildinhalt und letztlich das Wort Gesamtkunstwerk führen mich zur Abschlussfrage:

„In deiner Pressemitteilung wird das Wort Gesamtkunstwerk verwendet, das als urdeutsch gilt. Es kann in keine andere Sprache übersetzt werden. Die Filmmusik von The Last Faust ist unter anderem von Wagner. Dein von Faust kreierter Übermensch Humunculus ist ein Schwarzer mit blonden Haaren und blauen Kontaktlinsen. Ein deutscher Literaturklassiker diente dir als Vorlage, um dein Gesamtkunstwerk zu kreieren. Alles in allem finden sich also Stereotypen oder Begriffe, die im Laufe der Geschichte mit unterschiedlichen Bedeutungen besetzt wurden. Und deine Erzählung endet mit dem Untergang der Menschheit, den diese sich in ihrer Gier nach unendlichem Wissen und unendlicher Macht in Silicon Valley selbst geschaffen hat. Mehr Ironie und Selbstanspielung gehen kaum …“

Humm: [Lacht] Korrekt. So war es auch gewollt. Über die Zeitreise durch die Kunstgeschichte in zeitgenössischer Ästhetik konnte ich zum Ausdruck bringen, wie unterschiedlich Symbole und auch der Begriff des Gesamtkunstwerks interpretiert und definiert wurden. Die Ironie diente mir als Stilmittel, um zu einer kritischen Auseinandersetzung im Umgang mit der Zeitgeschichte und letztlich mit sich selbst anzuregen …

Lust bekommen auf The Last Faust? Video on demand über Amazon, iTunes, Sky Stores, Google, Microsoft, Wuaki oder Vubiquity.

Es lohnt sich!

Weitere Informationen

… über den Künstler:

https://philipphumm.art/