Chris Soal und Elke Backes

Chris Soal

Chris Soal und Elke Backes
Objet trouvé travels in time

Photos: Karl Rogers

Johannesburg. Never before in my life have I seen so many fences and walls, usually topped by electric fences, and so few pedestrians. Strangely enough, there are very few parked cars. Of course I had heard that Johannesburg is plagued by high crime and serious socio-political problems. But, as I shall find out today, it is something quite different meeting people who grew up here and use art to discuss life in this city.

I am paying a visit to Chris Soal, 24, one of THE upcoming artists, who represent the new South Africa (24 years after the end of Apartheid) in their work. The course of his early career progressed extremely fast. While still a student, he was nominated as a finalist for a few awards, and then only three months after graduating from his Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) degree at The University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, he was awarded the first prize for the PPC Imaginarium Award, in 2018. In the same year, recognition from international foundations enabled him to participate in not one, but two artist residence programmes. This was followed by group and solo exhibitions in institutions and galleries and his work being placed in important collections.

His studio is set up in his parents’ garage – fortunately still quite down-to-earth.

Chris Soal

Looking into the studio

The house is situated in a middle-class residential area. As before: No pedestrians, no parked cars. You ring the bell, the gate opens, you drive onto the property, and the gate closes. I immediately remember the first rule of conduct given to me at my guest house and which will hound me, as if I’m being brain-washed, the whole weekend: “Stay behind the gate!”

The slightly uncomfortable feeling is dispelled the moment Chris, with a big smile on this face, comes out of the house and invites me in for coffee and biscuits. Many of the walls show some of his unusual wall sculptures. Surrounded by rather more conventional furnishings and décor, they appear almost a little surreal, but demonstrate quite clearly the obvious pride of his parents in the success of their son.

We then move on to where he works. Immediately, my attention is caught by his latest bottle top works. I cannot immediately see what type of material he has used. The spiral-shaped cords make me think more of basketwork. The forms and colours – particularly the gold, silver and dark green – convey something typically African, which reminds me of traditional garments, jewellery or precious ornaments. Yet bottle tops of beer bottles?

Chris Soal

Bottle-top-works, Picture right: If wishes were fishes we’d all cast nets (2019)

Chris draws my attention to the sculpture which won him the art award and which he has just bought back from the buyer for more than two and a half times the purchase price. “That was a bit silly of me”, he admits, smiling. “But who would have thought that the work would become of such a high sentimental value to me?”

It is the construction of a scuffed, deflated football, made from cement, skewered by a bent steel rod. “This sculpture reflects a lot that has to do with Johannesburg as well as South Africa. Here, soccer is played largely on private properties, not in public areas. Because of the barbed wire fences it usually does not take long until the ball looks like this one. This is an experience almost all children living and growing up in Johannesburg share. At the same time, I refer to the debate surrounding the FIFA 2010 World Cup. Asking, of what benefit was it actually to the country, what is happening with the stadiums which meanwhile are starting to represent something of an almost monumental absence?”, Chris says explaining the backstory.

Chris Soal

Imposed structure to the detriment of the members [Deflated], (2018)

What role does the specific materials in this piece, “Deflated” play?

Chris: The material choices, and similarly with all my work, is very important. I play with it, trying to present it in other contexts and forms than we (as viewers) know it. Cement is a hard, static material which is found mainly in architectural constructions …. the use, therefore, is also a reference to the often dilapidated concrete skyscrapers which characterise the Johannesburg central cityscape. In this sculpture, however, the material suddenly looks like something soft and mobile.

Can such allusions then also be found in your bottle top works? What gave you this idea?

Chris: The starting point was again taking a conscious look at the city. Downtown, in particular, has a massive litter and waste removal problem. Many things lie in the streets and it’s not uncommon to see discarded beer bottle caps lining the pavements or pressed into the tar surface of the road. Initially, it was their form that inspired me. A single beer cap bent in half, reminded me of the ridges or “teeth” of a sea shell like on the underside of a cowrie. I collected them from bars and drinking holes in the city until my studio consisted almost entirely of bottle tops and I started to experiment with them. Against the backdrop of the questions as to what the materials say about our life and society, continually new variations emerged – evolving groups of sculptures.

Are you able to elaborate on this using the example of the bottle tops?

Chris: Sure. Of course. Starting with the question as to what histories and information is contained in a waste product of the beer consumption, I visited a manufacturing plant of bottle tops and looked at the industrial manufacturing process. Before punching the caps, the sheets with the various labelled prints fascinated me just as much as the waste products left after the punching process. When the print was changed, there were bits of unused sheets with overlayed designs from the different logos, a byproduct of cleaning the printing presses. They looked like textiles of African patterns (such as the local Shweshwe cloth), while the waste of the processed sheets looked like punched out gold. Suddenly this made me think of two of our major production industries: The textile industry and, of course, gold mining, without which the city of Johannesburg would never have been built. Two production branches, where predominantly women are employed in textiles, whereas in gold mining men play a major role. These two industries, unfortunately, are in great trouble. So then, by and by, I discovered essential characteristics of our social image in an industrial product like the bottle top. Characteristics which – within the context of an artistic process – ultimately found their reflection in diverse sculptural forms. Similarly, an engaging conversation between industry and culture was being played out in the works.

Chris Soal

Picture bottom left: Waste after punching, (top) Terrikon fraction (2017)_ Pictures right: Bound, (2017) (bottom: detail)

There is so much regarding the question about what materials can say about the society we inhabit. To what extent do your sculptures reflect questions of human existence and experience?

Chris: Firstly, these questions are reflected in the repetition of the same type of objects. When viewed as a whole, the individual objects appear to lose their importance. However, each object is of great importance for the creation of the whole picture. I use the repetition of the same type of object as a means to reflect the interdependence of the individual and the collective. And secondly, space, time and light – important components of human life – also find their place in my sculptures.

The incidence of light and the movement of the viewer in the room cause two completely different perceptions. I therefore incorporate known patterns of perception while I develop my works. Ultimately, the objects I am using also embody relics and traces of a cultural past and reflect the change of values during the course of time.

Chris Soal

Stellar Core Remnant, (2017) and detail

In many cases, these thoughts also apply to your toothpick works. But I expect that these are not relics of the past?

Chris: Oh no [laughs]! All brand new. At the moment, there even is a supply bottleneck. There are no unwrapped toothpicks to be found in the whole of South Africa. I’m not joking! The supplies are on their way, but still delayed in Durban harbour due to strikes.

A look at the mass of the processed toothpicks leaves no doubt about this statement. … I am looking at the work from a bit further back. It is amazing. Once again, I perceive the material as something different from what it is. Again, form and colour lead me astray. The large-scale sculptures look like cuddly soft animal fur, the smaller ones like sharp corals. “What thoughts surround the making of these works?”, I ask.

Chris Soal

Picture left: “Lament (We thought the good times would never end)” 2019 (courtesy the artist and WHATIFTHEWORLD Gallery). On the right: Views of toothpick works in the studio.

Chris: Again these were questions about collective lived experience. In this case, our complicated relationship to nature: where we simultaneously depend on nature and, often out of fear or greed, dominate it. The former is under-emphasised, and the latter is exaggerated to a very dangerous level.

Final question: Because of the intense labour of these works, are you not worried that at some stage you will be sick to death of bottle tops and toothpicks?

Chris: Luckily not yet. The reasons are two-fold: I always work in a team. So there is no lack of variety and input from many people, and you can be sure of numerous new ideas influencing the creation of the works. And, I always work on several projects at the same time. I like to combine my central materials with each other or with something that I suddenly come across and that inspires me to step out and try something new. The evolution of new interpretations helps prevent boredom [he adds with a twinkling in his eye].

Chris Soal

Picture left: But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for (2019), Picture right: Climb into someone else’s skin and walk around in it (2018)

Looking back, I wonder whether Chris Soal’s central question regarding what materials tell us about our society and human life, does not also contain an analysis of the concept of sculpture. He shows that any material might become sculpture and so supports the idea of the Objet trouvé* conceived by the representatives of Avantgarde at the beginning of the 20th century. And he enables the viewer to experience another important characteristic of the sculpture because of the intrigue caused both by the material and the form. He challenges us to approach the sculpture from various perspectives by moving around it. This movement is the precondition for the perception of its three-dimensionality, which is always dependent on a three-dimensional space. Last but not least, the plethora of the various interpretations which develop within his bodies of work may be interpreted as a mirror of the unpredictable process of development in sculpting.

In short, characteristics of the Objet trouvé here meet fundamental properties of sculpting and reflect collective and philosophical questions of the 21st century.

Or, to put it boldly and simply: Objet trouvé travels in time. …

 

*a found object is treated like a work of art

Chris Soal und Elke Backes

Chris Soal

Chris Soal und Elke Backes
Objet trouvé goes future

Fotos: Karl Rogers

Johannesburg. Noch niemals zuvor in meinem Leben habe ich so viele Zäune und Mauern, meist noch von Starkstromleitungen getoppt, und so wenige Fußgänger gesehen. Seltsamerweise gibt es ebenso wenig geparkte Autos. Dass Johannesburg durch eine hohe Kriminalität und massive gesellschaftspolitische Probleme belastet ist, hatte ich natürlich schon gehört. Menschen kennenzulernen, die hier aufgewachsen sind und sich künstlerisch mit Themen des Lebens in dieser Stadt auseinandersetzen, ist dann allerdings etwas anderes, wie ich heute feststellen werde.

Ich besuche den 24-jährigen Chris Soal, einen DER Upcoming-Artists, die das neue Südafrika (24 Jahre nach Ende der Apartheid) in ihren Arbeiten repräsentieren. Der Verlauf seiner jungen Karriere ist rasant. Nach einigen Nominierungen noch während seines Studiums an der Witwatersrand University in Johannesburg, erhielt er 2018, nur drei Monate nach seinem Bachelorabschluss mit Auszeichnung, seinen ersten Kunstpreis (PPC Imaginarium Award). Stiftungen wurden auf ihn aufmerksam und ermöglichten ihm noch im selben Jahr die Teilnahme an gleich zwei Artist in Residence-Programmen. Es folgten Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen in Institutionen und Galerien und der Einzug in bedeutende Sammlungen.

Sein Atelier ist – glücklicherweise noch ganz bodenständig – in der Garage seines Elternhauses eingerichtet.

Chris Soal

Einblicke ins Atelier

Das Haus befindet sich in einem bürgerlichen Wohngebiet. Auch hier: keine Fußgänger, keine geparkten Autos. Man klingelt, das Tor wird geöffnet, man fährt auf das Grundstück und das Tor wird wieder geschlossen. Die erste wichtige Verhaltensegel „Stay behind the gate!“, die mir bei Ankunft in meinem Guesthouse vermittelt wurde und mich das gesamte Wochenende immer wieder Gehirnwäsche-mäßig verfolgen soll, kommt mir gleich wieder in den Sinn.

Die leicht beklemmende Atmosphäre wird in dem Moment neutralisiert, als Chris freudestrahlend aus dem Haus tritt und zunächst einmal zu Kaffee und Gebäck hereinbittet. An den Wänden sind viele seiner außergewöhnlichen Wandskulpturen zu sehen. Innerhalb der eher gediegenen Einrichtung wirken sie fast ein bisschen surreal, demonstrieren aber umso stärker den offensichtlichen Stolz der Eltern auf den Erfolg ihres Sohnes.

Wir gehen hinaus zu seinem Arbeitsplatz. Ins Auge springen zunächst einmal seine neuesten Bottle-top-works (klingt einfach cooler als ‚Kronkorken-Arbeiten‘). Das Material gibt sich als solches zunächst einmal überhaupt nicht zu erkennen. Die spiralmäßig gedrehten Stränge erinnern mich eher an eingefärbte Korbgeflechte. Die Formen und Farben – insbesondere das Gold, Silber und Dunkelgrün – strahlen etwas typisch Afrikanisches aus, das mich an traditionelle Gewänder, Schmuck oder kostbare Dekorationen denken lässt. Aber Kronkorken von Bierflaschen?

Chris Soal

Bottle-top-works, Bild rechts: If wishes were fishes we’d all cast nets (2019)

Chris lenkt meine Aufmerksamkeit auf jene Skulptur, mit der er seinen Kunstpreis gewonnen und die er gerade dem Käufer zum zweieinhalbfachen Satz wieder abgekauft hat.

„Das war ein bisschen blöd von mir“, gibt er lachend zu. „Aber ich hätte nicht gedacht, dass die Arbeit für mich einen so hohen sentimentalen Wert entwickeln würde.“

Es ist die Konstruktion eines abgewetzten, luftentleerten Fußballs, geformt aus Zement, der von einer gebogenen Stahlstange durchspießt ist.

„In dieser Skulptur wird sehr viel gespiegelt, was mit Johannesburg, aber auch mit Südafrika insgesamt zu tun hat. Fußball wird hier überwiegend auf den privaten Grundstücken, nicht auf öffentlichen Plätzen gespielt. Aufgrund der Umzäunungen mit Stacheldrähten dauert es meist nicht lange, bis der Ball so aussieht wie dieser hier. Deshalb handelt es sich um eine typische Erfahrung von Kindern, die in Johannesburg aufwachsen. Gleichzeitig verweise ich mit der Skulptur auf die Debatte rund um die FIFA Weltmeisterschaft 2010. Welchen Benefit hat sie tatsächlich dem Land gebracht, was passiert mit den Stadien, die mittlerweile schon etwas von einer monumentalen Abwesenheit verkörpern?“, erklärt Chris die Hintergründe, und schon sind wir mitten im Interview.

Chris Soal

Imposed structure to the detriment of the members [Deflated], (2018)

Welche Rolle spielt das Material in dieser Arbeit?

Chris: Die Materialwahl ist, wie in allen meiner Arbeiten, von großer Bedeutung. Ich spiele damit, es in anderen Zusammenhängen und Formen darzustellen, als wir es kennen. Zement ist ein hartes, statisches Material, das sich vor allem in architektonischen Konstruktionen findet … deshalb ist die Verwendung auch ein Verweis auf die oft heruntergekommenen Betonwüsten der Hochhäuser, die das Stadtbild Johannesburgs im Zentrum prägen. In der Skulptur hier erscheint das Material aber plötzlich als etwas Weiches und Dynamisches.

Finden sich solche Anspielungen dann auch in deinen Bottle-top-Arbeiten? Was hat dich auf diese Idee gebracht?

Chris: Ausgangspunkt war wieder der bewusste Blick in die Stadt. Vor allem in Downtown haben wir ein riesiges Müllproblem. Es wird einfach alles auf die Straße geworfen – so auch gigantische Mengen von Kronkorken, die sich sogar als Abdruck im Asphalt finden. Zunächst war es die Form, die mich inspirierte. Ein einzelner Kronkorken, der in zwei Hälften gebogen war, erinnerte mich an die „Zähne“ einer Muschel, an die Unterseite einer Kauri. Ich sammelte sie in Bars und Trinkhallen der Stadt, bis mein Studio fast nur noch aus Kronkorken bestand, und begann dann zu experimentieren. Vor dem Hintergrund der Fragestellung, was die Materialien über die menschliche Existenz und Gesellschaft aussagen, entstanden dann nach und nach immer wieder neue Varianten von Skulpturengruppen.

Kannst du diese Fragestellung am Beispiel der Kronkorken näher erläutern?

Chris: Klar, gern. Ausgehend von der Frage, welche Geschichte und Informationen sich in einem Abfallprodukt des Bierkonsums finden, machte ich mich zunächst einmal auf den Weg in eine Produktionsstätte von Kronkorken und habe mir den industriellen Fertigungsprozess angeschaut. Die Bleche mit den unterschiedlichen Labelprints faszinierten mich vor dem Ausstanzen ebenso, wie die Abfallprodukte, die nach dem Ausstanzen zurückblieben. Beim Druckwechsel und der hierfür erforderlichen Reinigung der Druckmaschinen entstanden aus den verschiedenen Logos Bleche mit überlagerten Mustern. Sie sahen aus wie Textilien mit afrikanischen Mustern [wie das lokale Shweshwe-Tuch], der Abfall der verarbeiteten Bleche sah aus wie ausgestanztes Gold. Darin erkannte ich plötzlich zwei unserer wesentlichen Industrien. Die Textilproduktion und natürlich den Goldabbau, ohne den die Stadt Johannesburg niemals gegründet worden wäre. Zwei Industrien, deren Arbeiterschaft darüber hinaus in der Textilindustrie geprägt ist von Frauen und im Goldabbau von Männern und leider auch zwei Industrien, die sich in massiven Krisen befinden. Nach und nach entdeckte ich also wesentliche Eigenschaften unseres Gesellschaftsbildes in einem industriellen Produkt wie dem Kronkorken. Eigenschaften, die sich letztlich innerhalb des künstlerischen Prozesses in unterschiedlichen skulpturalen Formen wiedergefunden haben und auf diese Weise einen Dialog zwischen Industrie und Gesellschaft herbeiführen.

Chris Soal

Bilder links: (unten) Restmüll nach dem Ausstanzen, (oben) Terrikon fraction (2017)_ Bilder rechts: Bound, (2017) (unten Detailansicht)

Soviel zur Frage, was Materialen über die Gesellschaft aussagen können. Inwiefern finden sich in deinen Skulpturen auch Auseinandersetzungen um die menschliche Existenz?

Chris: Zum einen über der Wiederholung gleichartiger Objekte. In der Gesamtbetrachtung scheinen die Einzelobjekte ihre Bedeutung zu verlieren. Doch ist für die Entwicklung des Gesamtbildes jedes Einzelne von großer Bedeutung. Die Wiederholung gleichartiger Objekte ist deshalb für mich zu einer Methode geworden, die gegenseitigen Abhängigkeiten von Individuum und Gemeinschaft abzubilden. Zum anderen finden sich Raum, Zeit und Licht – wesentliche Komponenten für die menschliche Existenz – in meinen Skulpturen berücksichtigt. Der Lichteinfall und die Bewegung des Betrachters im Raum bewirken völlig unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungen. Bekannte Wahrnehmungsmuster beziehe ich deshalb bereits in die Entwicklung meiner Arbeiten mit ein. Letztlich verkörpern die Objekte, die ich verarbeite, auch Relikte und Spuren einer kulturellen Vergangenheit und spiegeln den Wertewandel im Verlauf der Zeit.

Chris Soal

Stellar Core Remnant, (2017)

Vielfach lassen sich diese Gedanken auch auf deine toothpick-(Zahnstocher-)Arbeiten übertragen. Ich gehe aber davon aus, es sind keine Relikte der Vergangenheit?

Chris: Oh nein [lacht]! Alle frisch. Im Moment gibt es sogar Lieferengpässe. In ganz Südafrika gibt es keine verpackten Zahnstocher mehr. Kein Witz! Der Nachschub hängt wegen Streiks am Hafen von Durban fest.

Ein Blick auf die Masse der verarbeiteten Zahnstocher lässt keine Zweifel an dieser Aussage aufkommen … Ich schaue mir die Arbeit aus etwas größerer Entfernung an. Es ist erstaunlich. Erneut lese ich das Material als etwas anderes, als es ist. Wieder führen Form und Farbe in die Irre. Die großformatigen Skulpturen sehen aus wie kuschelig weiche Tierfelle, die kleineren wie scharfkantige Korallen.

Welche Gedanken haben dich zu diesen Arbeiten geführt, frage ich Chris.

Chris Soal

Bild links: “Lament (We thought the good times would never end)” 2019 (courtesy the artist and WHATIFTHEWORLD Gallery). Bild rechts: Toothpick works im Atelier.

Chris: Wieder waren es Fragen der kollektiven Lebenserfahrung. In diesem Fall ging es um das komplizierte Verhältnis zur Natur. Obwohl der Mensch von ihr abhängt, versucht er sie aus Angst und Gier zu beherrschen. Ersteres wird unterschätzt und letzteres um ein sehr gefährliches Maß übertrieben.

Abschlussfrage: Hast du nicht Sorge irgendwann keine Kronkorken oder Zahnstocher mehr sehen zu können?

Chris: Glücklicherweise im Moment noch nicht. Dafür gibt es zwei entscheidende Gründe: Ich arbeite immer im Team. Da ist Abwechslung garantiert und gleichzeitig ein vielseitiger Input, der in die Ideenentwicklung einfließt. Außerdem arbeite ich immer an mehreren Projekten gleichzeitig. Hierbei kombiniere ich gern meine zentralen Materialien miteinander oder mit irgendetwas, das mir plötzlich begegnet und mich zu neuen Experimenten inspiriert. So entwickeln sich letztlich immer wieder neue Interpretationen, die eine Langeweile verhindern. [ergänzt er augenzwinkernd]

Chris Soal

Bild links: But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for (2019), Bild rechts: Climb into someone else’s skin and walk around in it (2018)

Ist in Chris Soals zentraler Fragestellung, was Materialien über die Gesellschaft und die menschliche Existenz aussagen, nicht auch eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Skulpturbegriff enthalten, frage ich mich rückblickend. Er zeigt auf, dass jedes Material zur Skulptur werden kann und unterstreicht hiermit die im beginnenden 20. Jahrhundert von der Avantgarde konzipierte Idee des Objet trouvé*. Darüber hinaus lässt er über die Irritation, die sowohl das Material als auch die Form hervorrufen, eine andere wesentliche Eigenschaft der Skulptur für den Betrachter erlebbar werden. Er fordert uns heraus, sich ihr über unsere eigene Bewegung aus verschiedenen Perspektiven zu nähern. Diese Bewegung ist die Voraussetzung, um ihre Dreidimensionalität wahrzunehmen zu können, die immer in Abhängigkeit zu einem dreidimensionalen Raum steht. Nicht zuletzt kann noch die Vielzahl der verschiedenen Interpretationen, die innerhalb einer seiner Werkgruppen entstehen,   als Spiegel für das unvorhersehbare Prozesshafte in der Bildhauerei gelesen werden.

Zusammengefasst treffen hier also Eigenschaften des Objet trouvé auf grundsätzliche Eigenschaften der Skulptur und reflektieren gesellschaftliche und philosophische Fragen des 21. Jahrhunderts.

Oder um es einfach einmal plakativ auszudrücken: Objet trouvé goes future …

 

*ein gefundenes Objekt wird wie ein Kunstwerk behandelt

Weitere Informationen

… über seine Galerie: WHATIFTHEWORLD Gallery: https://www.whatiftheworld.com/artist/chris-soal/

… über seine laufende Ausstellung: https://www.whatiftheworld.com/exhibition/field-of-vision/

… dem Künstler folgen: https://www.instagram.com/chris_soal_.pdf.jpg.mp4.art/

… über den Künstler: https://www.thkgallery.com/chris-soal